I want a damn Popsicle

I feel bad. I really do.

I went for a run yesterday evening and I stopped in Trader Joe’s afterwards to pick up some food so I didn’t go my 4th day living off of just peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. In case you didn’t know, I’ve reverted back to being 12 by eating pb&j sandwiches for every meal (including breakfast) and watching episodes of Sailor Moon on Hulu because I didn’t realize I could do that. I’ve been desperate for another Popsicle ever since the Pride Run and all I could think was, “it’s so hot! you know what’ll taste great after a run? A POPSICLE!”20140630-095448.jpgIt looks amazing, doesn’t it?! Of course it does.

Only no one near me sells freaking Popsicles, they all sell fruit bars and wtf am I going to do with that? I got a pack for $1.99 at Whole Foods because I was desperate- “Caribbean Mix” sounded like it would meet my Popsicle need as well as my sudden desire to go on vacation for a week on a beach somewhere. Normally, I refuse to shop at Whole Foods on principle. It’s way too expensive and I’m not one of those people who’s all about organic green shit. As a former resident of Minneapolis, I’m more likely to go to a reasonably priced food coop over a place like Whole Foods. Also, Good Day New York said Trader Joe’s was all around cleaner than Whole Foods. Yeah, that’s right, TRADER JOE’S IS CLEANER.

I looked at the ingredients of this fruit bar when I got home and was disappointed to find there was nothing synthetic about the colors or flavors. No red dye 55 or high fructose corn syrup. Of course, it had real chunks of fruit in it (strawberries, coconut flakes, pineapple chunks). It’s not that I dislike real fruit, it’s just that then the consistency of the “fruit bar” is so… unappealing to me. Anyway, I ate it and it actually wasn’t bad for what it was.

The last two weeks or so I’ve been on a healthy eating kick. When I’m not eating PB&J sandwiches on white bread with no added nutrition, I’m eating peanut butter sandwiches with M&Ms or Lipton noodle soup. I used to always have it for lunch during the summer when I was home from school so now 90+ degree weather makes me want noodle soup while I watch Matlock. I’m special like that. I know I need to shake myself out of this slump because while I’ve been under my daily caloric intake in my neverending effort to lose weight, I also know that basically I haven’t consumed anything vaguely resembling a nutrient in awhile.

Anyone else eating like a champion lately?

 

9 thoughts on “I want a damn Popsicle

  1. My champion ended last week. June was a big month on the eating front….so big my pants became really uncomfortable. lol.

    I am with you though–fruit bars are not the same as a popsicle. Much like sorbets, frozen yogurt and sherberts aren’t the same as ice cream (though I have people try and tell me they are similar/just as good/better and I declare shenanigans on them all…crazy people). Sometimes there is no substitute…and most def. popsicles have no equal. :)

Leave a Reply

