Movie Night

There’s no better way to prepare for a Disney trip than a Disney movie marathon. In this particular case, I like to enjoy a Disney film in the evenings and tonight’s selection was Peter Pan since we’re going to Disneyland in 9 days and the classics just seemed a given.

I always liked the movie Peter Pan, and I still do, but the older I get the harder it is love the movie and especially Peter himself. I would never dress up as Peter or as Wendy for a few reasons.

First, When you’re in your late 20s and dating, all of a sudden guys who don’t want to mature and are only looking for someone to do their laundry while they’re flitting around flirting with anything and everything seem really unappealing. You’ve met Peter Pan, he’s 28, lives in his parents’ basement, and wants to know if you could pick up the tab for dinner and his beer chugging friends are the lost boys. Get out now, Wendy.

Second, what’s up with Wendy? I mean, I don’t want to be some guy’s mother. Even if Peter wasn’t hitting on Tiger Lily and all the scantily clad mermaid and laughing at their attempts to drown me, I certainly don’t want some guy I have a crush on thinking of me as his mommy. Paging Norman Bates. Her and Tinkerbell need to gang up and tell Peter to shape up or ship out, because he had that bomb Hook sent him totally coming to him. (Why is no one in this movie horrified that this kid cut off the man’s hand?!)

Third, as for the song about why the Red Man’s red, all of my friends who study Native American history (and those that are Native American) are so disappointed with me and cringing on the inside for this one.

Aside from this, I still love that movie even if it just came down to Mary Blair whom I idolize.

Leave a Reply

