Mother Knows Best

Disneyland is fast approaching so naturally I have to heed Scar’s advice to be prepared. Walt Disney World is a no brainer for me, my sister and I go 1-2 times a year pretty regularly and we have our routine down cold. This trip is different though: it’s my first big race, first Disney race, first time in Southern California, first time in Disneyland, and oh god I’m going with my mother.

Don’t get me wrong, my mother and I are without a doubt best friends but she hates Disney and she thinks running is absolutely ridiculous because honestly as she said, “sweat just grosses me out.” The last time she was in Walt Disney World about 12 years ago we walked down Main Street and she plugged her ears and kept repeating, “they’re trying to brainwash me! I’m going to get you for this you little b%tch!” She also became hysterical on Pirates of the Caribbean when I told her there was a little dip just as we pulled out of the dock. The first time I went alone with my sister she said, “You’re going out now? It’s so dark! And late! Isn’t that dangerous?” It was 7:00pm.

So why is she coming? It’s not to cheer me on–when I told her I have to be at the starting area around 4:30 she said, “Oh god… Call me when you’re done, I’ll be down by the pool. Just try not to wake me up.” When I mentioned going on Pirates of the Caribbean she said, “Wait a minute, you didn’t say anything about going into the park!” When I said I was going to Disneyland, why wouldn’t I go in the park she said, “Well, you’re running through it aren’t you? Isn’t that enough?” In fact, when I was hired for my new job the first thing out of her mouth was, “So now we don’t have to go to California!” But my mom loves me so much she’s willing to come out to California and the place she detests more than anything with me so I wouldn’t have to go alone (unless I want to go in the park, ride a ride, or run the race). Or I might have lied and told her there was a free breakfast buffet included in the room, the woman can’t resist a free breakfast.

Leave a Reply

