I did it!

Mission accomplished: I completed my first 13+ mile run this weekend with a 15 mile run.

Listen people, I won’t lie to you, it scared me the way going a week without television does. You know, you could do it if you had to but you really don’t want to have to find out. It didn’t start out pretty. My garmin watch has a tendency to not charge even though I plug it into the wall and everything so I started out with only 1/2 a battery and thought to myself: I just have to beat the battery. I got close, at 14.88 miles it conked out and refused to go on.

So what do you think about during a 15 mile run?

Mile 1: Wow, it’s so nice out! Great weather for a run!

Mile 3: Just three sets of 5, that’s totally doable.

Mile 5: Out to the trail… Fall foliage! I’m so excited about this marathon! I’m doing it!

Mile 7.5: Halfway there! OMG, I’m halfway there! Why am I so excited about being halfway? You’re such a moron.

Mile 8: Wow, this belt for my water is so uncomfortable… I think it makes me look fat, oh man, I look fat and flabby in my water belt! All the other runners are judging me. I’m so ashamed.

Mile 9: Why am I the only person out here? Where’d everybody go? I’m not running under and underpass alone….

Mile 9.5: Wow… almost there… Why do I feel like sh*t? I should be running this without a problem…

Mile 10: okay, 5 more miles… move feet, move… c’mon…

Mile 10.5: My butt… oh god, I think I just sprained my butt…

Mile 10.75: No really, I think I should stop for my butt sprain…

Mile 11: No, okay, that’s fine… ankle feels funny… Maybe I should stop….

Mile 11.25: I should stop.

Mile 11.5: No, I should really stop.

Mile 11.75: No stopping! Keep going! Your water belt makes you look fat, run off that extra weight!

Mile 12: How am I running Wine & Dine? This feels like torture.

Mile 13: *no longer capable of thinking.*

Mile 14: OH MY GOD THIS WATCH BETTER NOT DIE!

Mile 14.3: OH MY GOD THIS WATCH BETTER NOT DIE!

Mile 14.5: OH MY GOD THIS WATCH BETTER NOT DIE!

Mile 14.75: OH MY GOD THIS WATCH BETTER NOT DIE! I’m almost there!

Mile 14.88: YOU MOTHER—— YOU DIED!!!!

Mile 15: How am I going another 11.2 miles?!

Staring at the steps in my apartment building: “Son of a….”

One thought on “I did it!

Leave a Reply

