Oh No!

There are of course a few things one doesn’t want to hear before they fly somewhere for a race that cost an exceptional amount of money. 1) coughing, sneezing, or congestion of any kind that indicates sickness and 2) your body giving you any indication of discomfort, body parts making noise that were previously silent.

Guess who heard both this week? I tried not to insult my colleague who wanted to train me in the art of pdf formatting, but dude, call me when you don’t sound like death; I don’t care how uncontagious you claim your sinus infection is! Back away!

That I could deal with as I mainline orange juice, but after the 15 miler I felt a little twinge in my ankle and have some tightness in my calf that was not there before. What am I supposed to do with this?! Part of me is like, “run it for fun! It’s a Disney race! Don’t kill yourself!” Then the other half is screaming, “Don’t listen to it! You can do it! GO FASTER!”

But Peter, how do you get through a tough run? I’m so glad you asked. You think of a wonderful thought–any happy little thought? Yes, it’s easier than pie because you can actually think about pie and that’ll usually get you through a mile. I literally spent 4 miles just singing in my head, “You can fly! You can fly! You can fly!” interspersed with, “oh, okay, not flying… not flying… crash landing!” I wasn’t going off to Neverland just yet, but it was definitely taking my mind off the actual running.

And who needs biofreeze when you have freezing rain? As I passed a boxing gym populated mostly by men, I saw two guys on the treadmill doing their run and I thought to myself, “Why don’t you guys toughen up, come out here and run with the ladies?! Whimps!” That’s right, I mentally laid it down in a scathing interior monologue.

Just think of all the joy you’ll find when you leave the run behind and bid your shoes good bye! You can fly! You can fly! You can fly! Or just crash onto your couch. Whatevs.

 

One thought on “Oh No!

Leave a Reply

