Oh, that’s why I haven’t lost weight…

First: I think I should amend my assessment of the compression sleeves. I wore them after my 20 mile run and I must say: my calves really do feel much better than they did post 18 miler. Putting this into perspective: I can walk, which is more than I could say for myself since the W&D. If it’s really wearing the calf sleeves during and after the run or just that I took it easier yesterday I don’t know, but whatever it was I could walk.

In other news, Christmas is 9 days away and I haven’t baked a single cookie, so yesterday I decided it was time. I plan on doing copious baking this weekend when I go home for Christmas, but since I have a work party tomorrow with a baking contest component to it I felt obligated to prepare something. Naturally, I decided on something that requires absolutely no baking: Rosettes. I first has these two years ago when I lived in Minnesota. They sold them at Lunds & Byerly’s supermarkets during the holidays because it’s a Scandinavian specialty and guess what? Surprise! There are a lot of Scandinavians in Minnesota.

Anyway, so when I moved back to NJ I couldn’t find these anywhere so I needed to make them myself and let me assure you they’re a huge pain in the butt. Hot oil and a hot iron are a recipe for disaster as much as they are a recipe for something tasty. But here’s how you make these beauties…

The Ingredients.

The Ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c flour
  • 1-1 1/4 c milk (I like to thin the batter out so it’s thinner than, say, pancake batter)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • powdered sugar
  • Canola oil

Now, in addition to these items you’ll need a special piece of equipment: a rosette iron. I have no idea what stores sell these, probably Williams Sonoma or some other equally expensive kitchen place might have them but I got mine on Amazon.

The Iron

The Iron

It was a set of 5 irons in different holiday shapes and when I bought it I want to say it was $11 or something but you’ll pay more for a Christmas set than you will for other generic shapes. What can I say, ’tis the season to rip off. The batter will look a lot like pancake batter, just try to make sure you have no lumps in it because that will definitely dampen your rosette excitement. Sift the flour, and while the recipe said 1 cup of milk to 1 cup of flour I added about 1/4 of a cup extra milk to get it a little thinner. It makes for a less cake-y and crispier rosette. Allrecipes.com has a video showing you the magic of making rosettes because it can be kind of hard to explain…

My tips for making them: 1) lay out your work space before you start frying anything. 2) A cookie sheet with paper towels on top works well for when you take them out. 3) Once you start, you chain yourself to that stove because they will burn in a matter of seconds. 4) These are best hot out of the oil (with the requisite time to cool down so you don’t burn yourself) so if you’re serving them for a large group/party, it’s a great way to get away from your guests! 5) Not a child friendly way to make treats during the holidays. Hot irons + hot oil = tears just waiting to happen. Hell, I hurt myself making these.

When all is said and done though, they’re delicious. Sprinkle some powdered sugar and enjoy.

golden and delicious

golden and delicious

IMG_1121

Ta da! Tasty.

Ta da! Tasty.

Oh, and this goes completely against Runners’ World‘s advice on eating sensibly and not overdoing it during the holidays–but technically, it doesn’t count as baking sooo…

Leave a Reply

