Happy Valentines Day!

I spent Valentines Day in the most romantic spot possible:

ARCHIVES!!

ARCHIVES!!

Archives II

Archives II

Not the National Archives and Records Administration building that’s right off the national mall, but Archives II (like Back to the Future Part II or Vatican II or Jaws II) that’s up in College Park, MD. It was an overview of good practices for records management, with anecdotes like how to establish a risk assessment plan in case an asteroid lands on your building and releases alien squirrels intent on eating your collection. Things like that. The best part was actually sitting outside in the sun with my February issue of Runners’ World and just enjoying sunlight.

(Yesterday I was super bitch because I spent the whole day thinking about how I wanted to go outside and see sunshine after my unreasonably late night in my office with no windows only to see this:

Mother...!

Mother…!

I was pissed off over the rain, not the priests. I was cool with them.)

Romance was in the air everywhere. Forgot about that special little lady in your life? Just head down to the parking lot of Advance Auto Parts and get a jumbo teddy bear or a bouquet of flowers.

IMG_1374

Muffler, windshield wipers, and valentines day gift. Done.

So upon returning from my Maryland adventure, I headed out for a nice, easy 3 mile run. After I picked up my mail and saw that the front desk in my apartment building had magically turned into a florist since this morning:

I needed an antihistamine just to walk through the lobby

I needed an antihistamine just to walk through the lobby

This doesn’t include the boxes and boxes of pro-flowers and more bouquets that were sitting behind the counter because they didn’t have room for more. Which one was for me? Why… none of them. That’s right, NONE. NOTHING. ZIP. Zilch. nada. But something even better than flowers came! A book! That I bought myself, because I always know exactly what I want.

The gift of knowledge never dies!

The gift of knowledge never dies!

The best part of the day happened on my run, though. I sit in my office with no windows and forget what the outdoors look like and slowly grow increasingly deranged as a result, running helps me get out, breathe air that isn’t filled with the stench of someone’s burnt popcorn, and get really pissed at all the couples who insist on holding hands and blocking the whole f%$king sidewalk. but this makes it all worthwhile…

It was even better in person when I ran along the Potomac.

It was even better in person when I ran along the Potomac.

Happy Valentines Day! (or more importantly, happy February 15th when all that chocolate goes on sale!)

Leave a Reply

