Hello, Cupcake! Review

IMG_1513

Web Site

Address:

1361 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20036

Price: $3.25 per cupcake

IMG_1516IMG_1515

I was up at Dupont circle on unrelated business and remembered the existence of a cupcake place so I decided to try it out. Hello Cupcake is akin to Sprinkles, it offers cupcakes and coffee but no other food items. In terms of size, the cupcakes here fall this way: Georgetown cupcakes = Hello Cupcakes < Sprinkles < Baked and Wired.

From here.

From here.

I ordered two flavors: the plain vanilla cake with chocolate frosting (HC Original) and the Samoa and a friend got the 24 carrot. I will take her word that the 24 carrot was a good cupcake, and here are my thoughts on the Samoa…

  • The frosting was light, airy, and abundant. Not so much that it was supermarket cupcake frosting, but enough that you could redistribute it and light enough that I didn’t want to scrape most of it off.
  • The caramel flavor in the frosting was faint, not overpowering.
  • The chocolate cake was a little dry for my tastes.
  • The toasted coconut was great.

All in all, I liked Hello Cupcake and it does offer your special diet options like gluten free and vegan, but in my own rankings it’s definitely not at the top of the list. It’s not quite cheap enough to be a great bargain, and not quite tasty enough to warrant abandoning my current stomping grounds. Plus, if Krispy Kreme has the hot now light on across the street… well, all bets are off and I will abandon the cupcake for the donut. This much I know.

Leave a Reply

