I take it back

I take back all my bitching.

I hate hot weather, please give me back the cold. The snow. The icy patches. The distinct lack of insects and things flying into my face while I run. PLEASE. It’s supposed to be 90 tomorrow and quite frankly, I just don’t think I can handle it. And it’s not even humid yet. Oh dear God, not humidity.

pictureI know a lot of people say things like, “you know, running in the heat is a test of your fitness!” and “you should get used to it, it’ll make you fitter!” and “suck it up, buttercup!” and “serious runners go out in the heat and do what needs to be done because we just can’t function any other way!”

To those people, I say “you are f%$king insane.”

I swear, I think only psychotic zealots and liars answer the Runners’ World reader surveys. Seriously? You go run when it’s 90 degrees outside before factoring in the humidity? I’m calling B.S. on that one.

Last summer, warm weather hit me like a ton of bricks and my first time running outside on a hot day also happened to be my first 10 mile run. Sooo not pleasant. I remember sitting down on the curb and just feeling like I wanted to die. Today’s 4 miler was not as bad, I actually maintained a pace that was just below death march but above I-think-I’m-going-to-keel-over. I was perusing my calendar and realized something: marathon training for the marine corps marathon starts in July. July. My mileage builds up in August. August. In DC. I don’t know if you knew this about our nation’s capitol, but it’s kindly referred to as a “humid subtropical climate.” Not-so-kindly called a swamp.

But, this year I have a pool on the roof of my apartment building and what I hope will be an empty building in the summer months when the undergrads go back to mom and dad’s. Post-run pool party, anyone?

Ben-Jerrys-Free-Cone-Day-2013April 9th was free cone day at Ben & Jerry’s but with the heat and everything forget trying to get your free cone while you were covered with stinky, smelly sweat. The line was just too long and I felt like someone had hit me with a truck.

So, how does everyone deal with the heat when they run?
Do you just not run?
I’ll end up going the treadmill route, which was fine for half training last summer, not so much for marathon training… Unless there’s a Matlock marathon on TV, ’cause them I’m set.

2 thoughts on “I take it back

  1. I hate the treadmill so when I train I go early in the morning or late in the evening when it starts to cool down. You will never and I mean NEVER see me running outside in full sun 90 degree weather. I saw someone doing it yesterday and I just scoffed. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

