Am I gonna hurl?

So, with work becoming a place where I increasingly need to reiterate my new mantra, “just smile and nod” because if I speak I will surely say something that will get me fired, I’ve begun investing a renewed vigor into my running.

Turns out my body can’t quite handle any more vigor. It wants to go back to slow, lethargic, apathy.

Ever since the Nike Women’s 1/2, I don’t know what’s happened to me. My pacing has been getting slower… I’ve been getting slower… I’m feeling… sluggish and blah when I run. I blame the heat. I don’t know. I tried to go it at an 8:30 pace and I end up feeling like someone is trying to rip my intestines out. It’s unpleasant to say the least, whereas a month ago I could more or less handle something in the upper 8:30 range.

CowbellThe pushing has cut short my runs. I fully intended to do 5 miles on Monday, and then the second mile at 8:30 made me feel like I was going to keel over on the side of the road. It took me 20 minutes to stop shaking and feel alright again, which was probably the part that most frightened me.

Let’s be honest, though, running on a straight stretch of otherwise unoccupied, desolate country road, alone, as the sun is setting and listening to “Don’t fear the reaper” and looking over your shoulder like there’s a f#$king reaper behind you is an effective, albeit somewhat terrifying, means of getting in your speed work. Let’s call it method speed work.  Yes, this is an actual scene from Supernatural.

I still haven’t quite learned one of those all-too-important life lessons: don’t judge yourself against other people’s accomplishments. And there’s nothing more fun to run to than classic rock.

Survey: At what point do you say, “OK, maybe I should stop” and then at what other point do you say, “No, really, I’m going to stop now.”

Leave a Reply

