Running Revelations

I’ve been running for about a year and a half now. 13 months ago I finished my first ever 5k, yesterday I finished my 6th.

After the Easter weekend 5k when I placed in my age group, I started looking for 5ks where I could possible place in my age group. And this past weekend, I turned out for the Hillsborough Hop 5k hoping to do just that. Unfortunately, I came in 5th, but I realized a few things in the process. First and foremost that all races should offer philly soft pretzels at the finish line and when it’s hot it should be required that they serve a range of water ice flavors from Rita’s.

MulanI told myself if I didn’t feel like I was going to hurl, I probably wasn’t running fast enough. Given that I was eating pretzels and ices a few minutes later I’m going to say I didn’t push it quite enough but I totally loved that pretzel thing. Best post race food ever.

Second, while I was lamenting that I came in 5th instead of placing for my age group, I had the realization that holy sh$t I just ran a 26:43 5k. I didn’t think this was even in my universe of possibility. I didn’t think I could do this. I didn’t think in my wildest dreams I’d break 30:00 in the 5k.

I am in awe of me right now.

I know I’m still not fast but I feel like in the last year and a half I’ve accomplished quite a bit. Had I known there were pretzels at the finish, who knows how fast I could’ve gone?! No, seriously, I really mean that. I pr’d at the Wine & Dine 1/2 because I kept screaming “CREME  BRULEEEEE!!!!!” over and over in my mind.

Picture 8On Sunday I finished my 8th NYRR race, the Celebrate Israel 4 miler. It was fine, the usual loop through Central Park without the Harlem hills and crappy post race food they put no effort into. I walked away happy it was over and next weekend is the last one where I haul my butt in to Central Park for the Mini Marathon. It seems only fitting that this race ends with a medal.

Leave a Reply

