Television Break – Being Erica

So we have already established that my love for Supernatural runs deep and runs eternal and I have an unhealthy addiction to Dance Moms. (Is anyone else who watched the summer premiere wondering what Kelly’s huge problem is???) But for today’s show we travel north of the border to Canadia! Or Canada. Whatever.

BeingEricaBack when I lived in Minnesota, I started watching Being Erica which is a legitimately Canadian show (originally aired on CBC). Back in ye olden days (like 4ish years ago) they showed it on SOAPnet and one of two things happened: either I lost SOAPnet as a channel and couldn’t watch anymore ’til I moved and got the channel back or SOAPnet just dropped the show. Either way, I was emotionally crushed and had to watch season 4 completely online on hulu. But it was worth it!

As I continued to gain weight and my life as a PhD student spun ever more out of control and in a downward trajectory, there was something really appealing about a show that followed a girl who listed her regrets and was then able to go back and re-do those events. Think about it almost like Back to the Future, with time-space continuum problems and everything. Gee, I wonder why I love this show. It’s described this way:

“In Being Erica, life changes forever for over-educated and underachieving Erica when she meets Dr. Tom, a mysterious therapist who takes her back in time for a chance to do over those life-defining moments with the foresight and wisdom of seeing how they played out. From prom nights and first kisses to job interviews, Erica’s list of regrets has accumulated to the point where she must act now or forever accept her mediocre life.” (iTunes)

It’s one of those shows that you can pretty easily relate to because who hasn’t had the feeling that they totally f#$ked up everything in their life? And who hasn’t had those moments you wish you could take back? But it’s great because it helps reaffirm the message that you’re in charge of your future and that acting on your own behalf to realize what you want in life is a great start to getting somewhere else. And nothing about that is easy. Nothing. Especially if you’re fresh out of college and the economy has just exploded. Not being “athletic” or on a team was always one of those things I regretted about my life–I wanted very badly to belong, to be part of something and fit in somewhere. I think of my running now as something I did to change that and accomplish it. Each mile is a f#$k you to the gym teachers of yesteryear.

And isn’t running a great way to get from where you are to where you want to be?

If you want to watch, episodes are available on Youtube, iTunes, hulu, and Amazon.

Leave a Reply

