From the Half Marathon to the Full

Screen shot 2013-08-03 at 6.33.37 PMI was just perusing the Disneyland Half Marathon race weekend program because that’s a thing that I do when I just need a little something to get me through the day and I saw Jeff Galloway talking about going from the half marathon to the full, saying, “Training for a marathon does not require much more training than for a half marathon: 30 minutes on Tuesday and Thursday, and 60 minutes on most weekends, as the minimum.” 

Screen shot 2013-08-03 at 6.20.26 PMMy initial response to this is the following: wtf marathon is he running and how can I sign up for that one because I obviously picked the wrong marathon. After my first marathon in January, I spent the spring working on half marathons and now that I’m transitioning back into training for a full I can say unequivocally the following: a marathon is a lot more work. It leaves me feeling more tired and hungrier. Rungry and Rangry all at the same time.

It’s like runners’ PMS.

There are plenty of blogs out there that will show you people who run a marathon on a whim (“I just decided at the expo to run the full! Those three hours were rough!”) or every weekend or twice a week. If that’s what you’re looking for then I have no idea how you ended up here. 

Because in the world that I inhabit, marathons are a lot of work. Yeah, that’s right, they’re a lot of freaking work and they’re difficult. I don’t say this to scare you away from a marathon if you haven’t done one yet or are thinking about one, I say it to reassure you. Yes, for many people in this particular universe, the marathon is a difficult thing. It’s a big deal. A substantial commitment in both time and energy. So if you think you’re alone because your marathon training feels tough and like it’s a lot more work than you’re used to for say, a half, I just want you to know that you’re not alone.

IMG_1282<—This doesn’t happen over night.

8 thoughts on “From the Half Marathon to the Full

  1. Solid! And may I add that I get terribly “hangry”, too. And when my training run isn’t going as well as I want, I’m a HUGE grouch.
    Congratulations, good luck, and we’ll see you at Marathon Weekend!

  2. Maybe he’s going for that, once you reach a certain mile 90% of the game is half mental? As I recall, my training plan for the More Half was ~12 weeks long. Marathon plans are ~20. How is it not more work? Looking at my training for Dopey, idk exactly how I’m going to fit everything in starting in Nov / Dec…aside from my Philly Marathon which I’m doing as a training run (opportunity knocked).

  3. I’ll be at Marine Corp and W&D too! : )

    And I agree, a full is MUCH more work than training for a half – especially during the summer with the heat and humidity!

    • You’ll have to let me know how you’re handling that–I felt great after the WDW marathon last year and bounced back into long runs, but I was hoping to go for a good time at MCM since I will have the home field advantage…

Leave a Reply

