Running in Tutus: Lessons learned from the Tower of Terror Costume

Tower of Terror was my first time running in a tutu, so here is what I have learned from that experience: I will not be running in a tutu again anytime in the near or foreseeable future.

Screen shot 2013-10-07 at 4.35.38 PMI wore the tutu, as you can clearly see in this photo, on top of my polka sparkletech because let’s be honest I don’t go anywhere without that skirt. ANYWHERE. As evidenced by the fact that I wore it at like 7 or 8 out of 9 New York Roadrunner races.

To keep my tutu in place I pinned it onto the shirt and then pinned the shirt onto the skirt. I’ve done this before but this is very problematic if you want to be able to go to the bathroom easily. This kept the skirt from riding up on my hips.

The no sew tutu makes it easy to add lights. I used el wire which worked really well for the race–they stayed on and helped illuminate things on the dark trail part so other runners thanked me. It’s not just a style choice, it’s also safety! The loops at the top of the skirt make it easy to feed the wire through so you don’t have to sew it or attach it in anyway. Once you’re done you can toss the tutu and easily reuse the lights.

The battery pack for the lights lived in the waistband of my skirt. Another option would’ve been the pockets on the legs. This worked, but the wires sticking out made the shirt ride up so that was a little annoying but not unmanageable. She also makes shorts with the pockets which would be a good option for battery pack storage. They didn’t bounce around at all and the only thing that changed the setting to blinking lights was when I threw myself on the ground for the gravedigger picture. Each line was 9′ of wire, I got it off of amazon for a little under $10 each and it worked really well, I would definitely use more lights though next time.

As always, I love the lululemon scoop neck tank top. It’s one of my go-to items, because it’s really comfy, relatively flattering, and overall works well. If conditions are conducive I will definitely wear it for the Marine Corps Marathon.

Any questions?

3 thoughts on “Running in Tutus: Lessons learned from the Tower of Terror Costume

Leave a Reply

