Playlist

So, um, it’s cold. I’ve been out of Minnesota for two whole winters now so 29 degrees is back to being freaking freezing as opposed to positively balmy. I remember how warm 30 degrees used to feel after a particularly frigid day of -15 with the wind chill. Ah, Minnesota winters. But my weakness drove me to the treadmill and guess who listened to music while running for the first time in over a year?!

People are always looking for song suggestions but let me tell you right now that there’s really only one thing you need: a gym with wifi or unlimited data and the Pandora app and the Backstreet Boys channel. Listen, I’m not going to say I’m a huge BSB fan because let’s be realistic here, in middle and high school I was too cool for that shit and in college I wouldn’t even like them ironically.

Today, I don’t give a shit. I’m too old for that crap, so I blasted the BSB channel on my iPhone and I LOVED IT. I was on the middle treadmill with a person on either side and guess who looked like she was having a treadmill party while everyone else looked like they were dying an agonizing, painful, slow death? So let’s hop in our Deloreans and return to 2001: a pop music odyssey.

  1. Hit Me Baby One More Time” by B. Spears. Honestly, I spent the years between 12 and 20 literally wanting to hit her, now I just dance along.
  2. Spice Up Your Life” by the Spice Girls. C’mon. I AM a ’90s girl at heart and that shit is amazing.
  3. source

    “Everybody” by the Backstreet Boys. Arm dancing no es optional.

  4. “Bye Bye Bye” by *Nsync. Again, arm dancing no es optional.
  5. Fighter” by Christina Aguilera because who doesn’t want to say to the marathon, “I thought after all you put me through I’d despise you but I wanna thank you for making me stronger”? Feel free to practice your badass look in the gym mirror while you run. I look hysterical.
  6. “Larger Than life” by the Backstreet Boys. OMG. Amazing.
  7. All the Small Things” by Blink 182. It wasn’t on the channel but you can’t have a BSB reference and not reference this song because of its video and the fact that after a run you kinda wish you had someone to carry you home…
11 thoughts on “Playlist

  1. Haha, I often find myself having random dance parties in public whether it be running or in the grocery store – and I am a TERRIBLE dancer so this is not a good thing.

    I love old school cheesy music though, to be honest I have no idea what “the kids are listening to these days”.

  2. Half those songs are on my running playlist too! Plus even more Spice Girls. And I often have to break out the BSB and *NSYNC just to get through a rough week at work. But yeahhhh you’re from Minnesota?! I originated in Wisconsin and I went to Minnesota for college, and my boyfriend grew up in the Minneapolis suburbs … New York does get cold but it really doesn’t compare. The boyfriend and I are going to my parents’ house, then his parents’ house over this upcoming Christmas week after spending the last few holidays on our own, so I’m really looking forward* to getting reacquainted with Midwest Winters.

    *not actually looking forward to this at all

  3. Pingback: Playlist: We’re Gonna Go Far! | Pink Elephant on Parade

Leave a Reply

