My Guide to the Holidays: Pajamas

Screen shot 2013-11-26 at 8.41.04 PMAs Thanksgiving rapidly approaches, the best suggestion I have for enjoying the holidays can be summed up in one word: pajamas. I know people get dressed up for the holidays, and every year my relatives wear uncomfortable shoes, panty hose, pants with waistbands that aren’t elastic. Especially for a holiday like Thanksgiving, a holiday that requires you eat copious amounts of food, why would you not wear something with an elastic waist?

Exactly.

Christmas Eve is our big night, much more so than Christmas day, and that night goes late. Dinner starts late, and no one usually leaves until well after midnight. Once everyone gets there, I tell my mother to sit at the table I do the clearing, the setting, making the next round of food (it’s seafood, there’s only so much you can do in advance). It’s how I avoid awkward conversation and socializing. Guess what makes that a lot easier, especially if something spills or splashes?

Exactly.

Screen shot 2013-11-26 at 8.42.05 PMSo this holiday season, when you’re looking at your wardrobe and trying to figure out what to wear, find yourself a nice, festive pair of pjs, preferably without any stains though that’s kinda negotiable. Trust me on this one–you wear regular human clothes enough, on the holidays you should be comfortable because your family is going to make you feel uncomfortable enough.

I totally rocked these as a kid. I remember my mom picking them out at Marshalls. –>

6 thoughts on “My Guide to the Holidays: Pajamas

Leave a Reply

