Let’s Pack a Ton of Crap

Screen shot 2014-01-03 at 7.27.18 AMI hate packing when I have a lot of stuff and nowhere to put it all. And I’m one of those people who always freaks out about overhead space because I don’t check bags so it looms over my packing process like Tower of Terror looms over Hollywood Studios, especially when I need this stuff to run so I really can’t have the airline forcing me to check it and then proceeding to loose it for a few days.

As clearly depicted in the above photo, though, I have a ton of crap and nowhere to put it. Will the weather be warm? Probably. Do I want to completely ignore this fact and aim for chillier temperatures after I ran in my building’s over heated gym and wanted to pass out and die? Yes.

There’s tons of crap to pack but the one thing I won’t be forgetting are these little beauties: Screen shot 2014-01-03 at 7.27.40 AMThat’s right, I’m bringing sponges, and not because I plan on cleaning the hotel room. At mile 17ish of the marathon they give out sponges from a giant kiddy pool and it feels amazing. Absolutely amazing. So with hot temps predicted for the weekend and now three months of my body enjoying lower humidity and temps below 70, I need all the help I can get. That’s right, I start out with my own sponges and I’m bringing one for the half as well as the full.

I refresh the sponges at each water stop–drink some of the water, use the rest to wet the sponge, and then keep moving. The sponge itself resides in the side leg pocket of my skirt, or sometimes underneath the strap of my sports bra. I swear to god, this was what got me through the marathon last year. If you’re not bringing your own, the best advice I can give you is don’t toss the sponge they give you–hold on to it until at least you’re coming out of Hollywood Studios.

And when you’re at mile 23, clutching your cool sponge that’s making this endeavor a little bit more bearable, just know I say, “you’re very, very welcome.”

What’s your must have item for your race?

12 thoughts on “Let’s Pack a Ton of Crap

  1. I was hoping to just pack my carry-on, but I don’t think that’s going to happen. my must-have is glide. I’m a chafer!

  2. That’s a great idea! The two things I would freak out about if I did not have is GU and immodium AD, as weird and horrifying as that is. I am always afraid of crapping myself during races, although this has never happened.

  3. Oh my goodness, I can’t believe you are going to pack in a carry on for Dopey! That is CRAZY impressive! I’m going with my big ass suitcase and bringing TONS of stuff!

    And I TOTALLY agree, the sponge totally saved me last year! I never thought of bringing my own though, I think I’ll have to stop and pick one up, awesome idea! And seriously good luck with that packing, I can’t wait to see how you pull that off!

  4. Ugh, I was trying to stay in denial about the humidity that awaits us. Thanks for the reminder. Packing will be tough, but no matter how “cold” it is, it will seem like a sauna compared to the -19° we have here today…

Leave a Reply

