I’m so damn cold

Suddenly, it’s freaking freezing out and I can’t even deal with it. How the hell did I live in Minnesota for two winters? How do people live in Canada? No, seriously, how?!

The sidewalks in DC are a mixed bag, mostly because it rained, then snowed. This pattern of weather prompted the rain to freeze as a sheet of ice underneath the snow and then there are people who are all, “Whatevs, I’m not going to bother shoveling or salting my sidewalk.” So there are patches of slippery, dangerous ice lurking many, many places. I’m already trying to figure out if I can legit sue GW if I slip there because not only do they not shovel or salt their sidewalks but their construction people leave pieces of wood with rusted nails out where you can fall on them and die.

Then I see people out for runs on these same sidewalks and I’m thinking, “yeah, you’re real smart. You’re such a badass. I really hope the cast they put you in when you slip and fall on this shit looks awesome.”

Maybe I’m just not committed to running as much as everyone else, or I’ve just lucked out with mild winters that never left much in the way of dangerous running conditions aside from chilly temperatures, but I see these kinds of things as one of those “I could’ve foreseen that terrible event happening” moments. I know lots of people pride themselves on running through any kind of weather, for weeks or years on end without taking a day off, running on holidays, blah blah blah. You know, those people who always post somewhere, “DID YOU GET YOUR RUN IN BECAUSE I GOT MINE IN EVEN THOUGH IT’S A BLIZZARD OUTSIDE!!!!!!!!!!!! GO ME!!!!!!”

But let me assure all of you: I will never be one of those people. You can come here, secure in the knowledge that my achievements set the bar so low it’d be impossible to limbo underneath it.

xoxo

Nicole

24 thoughts on “I’m so damn cold

  1. I am with you! I am NOT hardcore when it comes to running through storms and other inclement weather. That is why I have a gym membership. Lol. I am a clumsy, wimpy lady…with bouts of insanity–i just signed up for a 5 mile race in 3 weeks….i am going to freeze and probably slip and hurt myself. Lol.

  2. I got up and contemplated going for a run this morning, then decided to run a few errands first to judge the State of the Sidewalks. On my way to the bank, I spotted a few people jogging … then stopping to walk gingerly over ice patches … then pausing to figure out how to best navigate over the giant snow piles at the end of each block. So I decided to go see “Frozen.”

  3. I’m one of those idiots that runs out in the snow (in Canada nonetheless), but I head over to the park where the paths are plowed and salted. Sidewalks are treacherous this time of year!
    Canadians get through winter by planning trips down south…Disney this coming weekend, then Dominican in February, then winter is on it’s way out (I hope)

  4. Wow that sounds terrible! I have to say, I am one of those people that will pretty much run in anything…except ice. Like you said, it is pretty dangerous! Especially when it’s buried under snow (and perhaps with rusty nails…..what are people thinking?). All the public schools are actually cancelled in Minnesota tomorrow because it is supposed to be the coldest is has been since like 1986. I think it’s predicted to be like -50. So, yeah, even I will not be running outside in that. Be safe, and just laugh at those idiots (like me) out there running in the freezing cold. The treadmill is supposed to be better on your joints anyway!

    • It’s days like these that remind me why I only lasted two winters in Minnesota. The best thing about downtown Minneapolis was the skyway–I could go all along Nicollet and not once go outside. And the trails around the lakes were always very well taken care of.

  5. I just wanted to say thank you. Thank you very much. I always feel like I’m a horrible person because I look outside and say “screw that.” But then again, that’s probably why you’ll see me behind everyone else at races on the verge of collapsing.

Leave a Reply

