Pearls of Wisdom on Running From My Mom

Screen shot 2014-01-24 at 9.38.43 PMDisclaimer: I love my mom, I just can’t take her out in public.

Some people have really supportive families who run with them, who think it’s a great idea that they’re pursuing an active, healthy lifestyle. I don’t know those people, I’ve just heard about them. Apparently they exist.

My mom can be a little negative at times. She’s not always the most supportive and my ideas are typically met with a look skepticism and an accompanying, “Why the hell would you want to do that?” So when I decided to do the Dopey Challenge let’s just say she wasn’t super duper thrilled about it. Okay, so she actually said something along the lines of, “YOU CAN’T DO THAT. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU?” followed by a long, plaintive wail; a sound that only a mother who is incredibly frustrated with her stupid child can make.

Upon finishing Dopey, my mother’s response did what she usually does… Pretend like she was completely supporting the whole time and never doubted that I could do it.

As I was walking back to the room from the finish area in Epcot, here’s how the conversation went…

Me: “I did it! I did it! AND YOU SAID I COULDN’T DO IT BUT I DID!”
Mom: “I NEVER SAID YOU COULDN’T DO IT, I ALWAYS KNEW YOU COULD, I JUST COULDN’T UNDERSTAND WHY THE HELL YOU WOULD WANT TO! I’m just so proud of your!”

So yeah. I can’t figure out where she actually falls on anything, but fortunately I’m old enough now that I’ve just given up caring either way and do it anyway.

7 thoughts on “Pearls of Wisdom on Running From My Mom

  1. I got that kind of reaction from my grandmother. My parents and other grandparents thought it was wonderful I was going to attempt a half marathon, but this grandmother didn’t get it. I never brought the subject up with her again.

Leave a Reply

