My Wheels

The nice weather made it very difficult for me to enjoy my all day nap/Murder, She Wrote marathon guilt-free so I headed out to do my grocery shopping, which is basically a euphemism I use to describe when I’m going to buy deeply discounted 12 packs of soda cans. Some people say diet soda is full of chemicals that will give me cancer and/or kill me, I say if I’m dying, I’m dying with a carbonated beverage in my hand. Want to pick me up in a bar? Send along a diet orange soda and I’ll be the happiest girl in the world.

But transporting soda isn’t easy. It’s really heavy, and if I wanted to take advantage of these Super Bowl themed sales (because yes, I actually know what events trigger soda sales), I’m going to need a little help. Enter this little beauty: Screen shot 2014-02-01 at 6.57.10 PMI like to call it “my wheels,” others call it a shopping cart, a pushcart, or a granny cart. My great grandmother was partial to “pushcart.” I think everyone who lives car-less in a city should have one of these beauties. 5 years living in Manhattan my mother refused to buy one. Like animals, we carried our groceries from the Food Emporium because I don’t know, she had some kind of shame regarding the pushcart, like it wasn’t classy enough for her. FYI, everyone in the building asked what cleaning service we were with anyway, so I really don’t see how the pushcart would tarnish our image any more than doing our own laundry did.

In addition to this, I picked up some books at the library. Screen shot 2014-02-01 at 7.05.04 PMI’m getting back to running this week, so help me god, so I picked up some literature. I felt incredibly stupid checking out diet books, but you know, I’m not lucky enough that my weight just drops without me trying. *cough* just uh, ignore those jelly beans in the background… Anyway, I’ll let you know if there’s anything interesting in the books. I read the first paragraphs and put it down to have my mac-n-cheese for dinner so you know, haven’t gotten too far yet but I’m cautiously optimistic!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a diet orange soda chilling in my fridge and a vegan banana cupcake with my name on it.

2 thoughts on “My Wheels

Leave a Reply

