Exercise that isn’t foot dependent

It was getting to the point where I was thinking “I HAVE TO DO SOMETHING.” My foot is no longer swollen but it’s still a little strangely colored and it definitely still has its twinges of discomfort, but I needed to do something.

After carefully weighing my options, I decided to skip the elliptical and stationary bike in the basement gym. If I’m going to get over this, I’m going to do it right and wait until I lack any discomfort. If this hiatus has taught me anything, it’s that I want to get back out there and start running again without pain, and I realized that before my foot it was my IT band since November so it’s been awhile since I was running pain free.

Screen shot 2014-02-03 at 7.49.42 AMI sifted through my DVD collection and found a pilates video I bought about 2 years ago. I remember there being a whole segment that was “on the mat” which meant not having to use my foot much. Perfect. Unfortunately, it meant I did have to use my “core” muscles, a group of muscles I’m sorely lacking so you know, that was distinctly unpleasant.

I added in some free videos from online that were strength training oriented just for good measure. Yes, the muscle-y people on the website irked me but hey, I’ll take what I can get because it’s a) within my budget of “free” and b) I won’t do this stuff unless I have a video that I can just mindlessly follow along. I learned that lesson and I accept that that is just who I am as a person.

And as far as healthier eating goes, I’ve switched to Cap’n Crunch BERRY, so I think I’m pretty much a health nut now.

One thought on “Exercise that isn’t foot dependent

Leave a Reply

