A little cooperation would be nice

Feet, man, they’re just so… foot like. I find myself talking to my left foot lately and saying things like, “no wonder people hate feet! You’re so damn annoying!” and “HEAL! JUST FUCKING HEAL ALREADY!” I imagine my foot responds by saying, “weigh a little less and maybe I would, you stupid jerk.”

Screen shot 2014-01-29 at 7.44.27 PMI’m trying to keep myself in the zone where I just stay off it but at this point I’m kinda starting to get to the point where I’m thinking, “Hey, you know what, time to just suck it up and run and deal with the pain in a more irresponsible way, like pain killers and excessive ice pack usage.” Like EJ and Sami’s tumultuous relationship on Days lately, my foot and I… We just can’t go on like this.

I finally mustered the courage to go to the health unit at work, where they judge you and ask you to do terrible things like get on a scale in the waiting room so everyone can hear how much you weigh, because the other option was an actual doctor and I don’t have that in my budget. It was suggested, based on what my foot looked like and the pain I was feeling, that I maybe like, fractured something or something? “That takes weeks to heal, so you’ll probably be awhile before you can do much on it.” It was vague like horoscope in a way that wasn’t really all that helpful. I was hoping for something more along the lines of, “go for a run, it’ll heal EVERYTHING.”

Seriously, wikihow? Are you fronting for my mom?

I like to think this kind of medical advice is like my mother’s advice: sure, it’s probably right, but I can choose to disregard it and then be nothing short of completely shocked when it turns out to be right. Even Google is taking their side, with this image showing up in one of my many diagnostic searches (because who needs a medical degree when you have Google?).

If nothing else, you come here to learn what not to do, am I right?

Survey time: Injuries? How do you deal with them? Medical advice: are doctors and nurses the quacks I choose to believe they are?

6 thoughts on “A little cooperation would be nice

  1. I sprained my ankle (minor) the week before my first half marathon. After training for a year for that thing, I was like f* this, I’m running it…and I did…and my foot or ankle didn’t fall off or anything!

    I might be the “what not to do” scenario. :/

  2. I think it depends on the doctor/nurse. I was misdiagnosed with a “mild sprain” when it was actually a nearly severed tendon and told I could run a half I had been training for. HUGE mistake and I ended up having to take 8 months off, wear a stupid ankle brace and deal with other injuries related to it not healing right due to the initial misdiagnosis.

    I think the way to deal with it is to try and do what you can, even if it is frustrating. Go for a swim, ride a bike, or water run. It’s far better to have 6 weeks off than 6 months off.

    Get well my friend!
    ~Lisa

  3. I think it’s usually worth getting something checked out if only to find out if running on it or pushing through the pain is actually going to cause more damage and make it worse in the long run, you definitely don’t want to do that!

Leave a Reply

