Breakfast Battle Polynesian Style

IMG_2970Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but I think we can all agree that breakfast foods can be consumed at any time during the day. A big part of me wishes the Kona Cafe in Disney World was more akin to a NJ diner–breakfast is served all. day. long. Yes, there are other places you can go for breakfast in Disney World, but let’s be honest none of them is as good as the Kona Cafe.

The upside to runDisney morning races is that you finish early enough that you can still get to your hotel, shower, and take the 1 hour trek to the Polynesian for breakfast. I decided to commit to going and went after the 5k. The hostess said, “Oh, that’ll be about a 30 minute wait, do you want to wait?” Yes. I will wait. Patiently.

IMG_2967Some people are all about the tonga toast. If that’s what you want, you can get it for 1/2 the price at Captain Cook’s downstairs and sit outside and eat it. Enjoy yourself and free up a table for me. What you can get in Kona are the macadamia nut pancakes and the special Polynesian juice that I always get the name wrong.

I was a loner eating by myself as was the woman sitting at the table next to me so we got to talking when her food arrived. Originally, I wasn’t sure if she was talking to me or to the toast when she said, “I feel really stupid eating alone but I couldn’t come here and not get my tonga toast.” I intruded on her moment with her toast and asked, “Was it worth it?” to which she responded, “Oh yes. Yes, it really was.”

Tonga toast isn’t bad, I like the crunchy exterior and as far as french toast goes I thought it was delicious. But I’m a pancake girl and I REALLY love the macadamia nut pancakes with pineapple sauce and MACADAMIA NUT BUTTER. I’m drooling. I’ve started drooling. IMG_2973So basically, yes, this is my most favorite breakfast food in Disney World. While I appreciate the all you can eat breakfast buffet with its bounty of options, I will say unequivocally that I love these pancakes so much and have a jar of macadamia nuts sitting in my kitchen so I can try to recreate them. And I even got extra butter on the side because IT’S JUST THAT GOOD. The bread the Kona Cafe serves for dinner, also amazing, and FYI, their desserts are mind blowing.

So yeah. Now I’m hungry.

Survey: Favorite breakfast food in Disney World or elsewhere? French toast, pancake or waffle? WHERE DO YOU FALL? And yes, you have to pick a side.

9 thoughts on “Breakfast Battle Polynesian Style

  1. It’s so funny that you made a post about this! The Kona Cafe is pretty much the only place I have a “real” breakfast at (I also have a reservation for Thursday at 9:25 am and am counting down). I would always get the pancakes until I discovered the Samoan. Yum with a side of yum! I also always order the Lilikoi juice, I’m obsessed with it! And now I’m hungry (and drooling) despite having just literally finished my breakfast.

Leave a Reply

