Just Smile and Fake It: I can do that.

I recently spent an entire weekend watching Dance Academy so when someone invited me to a ballet class and the invitee swore that she would not laugh at my poor dancing skills and promised to stand in front of me so I’d know what I was supposed to be doing… well, it’s not like I was going to say no.

I’m really happy to say that the class was incredibly fun so all you losers in smelly yoga classes with ridiculous mantras and feet that are all up in your face need to change it up because ballet class is where it’s at. Especially Jenn’s teacher who said, “If you can’t do it, just smile and fake it!” Awesome, I can do that.

Screen shot 2014-02-19 at 9.55.00 PMOddly enough as a child I loved ballet but despite the fact that I don’t remember anyone ever explicitly pointing it out, ballet class was the first place I felt… out of place because I wasn’t as gazelle-like shall we say as the other girls. My mother’s solution was to tell me I needed to learn to “suck in my gut.” In second grade I dropped out and never looked back.

To the right, you’ll see a photo of me in my glory days. I suspect this was around 1989/1990 as evidenced by the mushroom cut and what is that, like a dickey on a elastic band than I’m wearing? I don’t know-it was definitely an elaborate costume. My mother had the video of my recital transferred to DVD and we watched it recently because when you’re short on things to laugh at just pop in a video of you as a 4 year old. I’m basically doing a rendition of “I don’t give a fuck what anyone else is doing” because nothing I’m doing matches the other kids at all. BUT I OWNED IT.

Which once again proves Jenn’s dance teacher right: Just smile and fake it.

Who else was an adorable child dancer?

10 thoughts on “Just Smile and Fake It: I can do that.

  1. YAY! Good for you for going! I would totally go with you – dancing is my FAVOURITE 🙂

    …also…did I just make a random connection – are Jenn & Moon @ Fairest Run of All in DC too?! Group run date!! They are another one of our favourite blogs!!

    ~ Lindsey

Leave a Reply

