The time of the season

First, congratulations to Danielle for winning a copy of Frozen, which is available today for HD digital download and in case anyone in the DC metro area (or DMV for short) forgot, Elsa sent a reminder this morning.

Screen shot 2014-02-25 at 8.21.23 PMFrozen served as my carrot on the end of a stick today. The time has come to start running regularly again. My foot, although occasionally achy hasn’t been bothering me so I feel ready to go out and get ’em and started doing the runs on the Runners’ World Break 2:00 half marathon plan. I guess I started yesterday by doing an at home pilates video and frequently pausing it to eat gummy bears so I really took that “rest/XT” to heart.

Screen shot 2014-02-25 at 8.19.17 PMBack to running today though and again, holy shit how’d I do a marathon? You know how sometimes you feel like you’re putting in all this effort so you convince yourself you must be running like 5 minute miles because in a few seconds you’ll just fall over and die and then suddenly an old person with a walker passes you and you’re left thinking, “what the fuck just happened here?”

Yeah. It was one of those runs.

Either way, it felt good to get out there and the faster I ran the faster I was done and home to Frozen and yes, Elsa makes it impossible to be angry with cold weather. Screen shot 2014-02-25 at 8.25.06 PMAnyone else getting ready for a goal race? (I use the term “goal race” very loosely here to mean a race you’re hoping you don’t die during the course of running it…)

And also if you have any questions about the Nike Women’s 1/2 because their website sucks just let me know-it’s practically cherry blossom season already!

16 thoughts on “The time of the season

  1. Hah! I like your definition for a goal race! For me it is the Toronto Yonge Street 10K and the Fargo Half Marathon in April and May respectively.

    Btw, so glad you are starting to heal! I think I am finally on the mend too (my achilles felt completely normal yesterday, not crunchy or swollen post run).

    When is your sub 2 goal race?

    ~Lisa

  2. We should run together and try to shoot for sub-2 at Brooklyn! I finally started running again this week and I don’t think I’ll be ready to go sub-2 at the More/Fitness Half in six and a half weeks. Sigh. ALSO NOW IT’S SNOWING HERE AGAIN AND STICKING THE SIDEWALKS WERE SOOOO NIIIICE YESTERDAY UGHHHH

  3. I had been hoping to make the half marathon I’m doing in Queens in a few weeks my goal PR race but with my lack of running due to the weather that’s bot happening! I’m looking into another half at the end of the April and planning on using the Cherry Blossom 10 miler as a tempo run.

    And THANK YOU for the Frozen contest! I’m going to be watching it on repeat over and over and over and over again!

    • If the Brooklyn 1/2 isn’t sold out you should totally do it… You can pace me and Katherine because a sub 2 half is like what you just do when you roll out of bed!

      And I’ll see you at the Cherry Blossom finish line! I’m hoping I pull medal handing out duty.

  4. My Enchanted 10K run was just like that! I was feeling soooo good about my pace (at least for the first half) and then I would pass the mile markers and be like wtf?!?! seriously?!?! that’s it?!?! All my non-Disney races are goal races and it is NOT looking good for my 1/2 next month, might have to throw another one in there before the Brooklyn Half.

    And Frozen was definitely the only thing getting me through being back at work. Ahhh, the magic of Frozen! There are so many happy moments…right now the scene with the snow monster guy after the credits is getting me through today.

      • Thanks for the suggestions! I did the Fitness Half last year, and despite my awesome (for me) PR, I vowed afterwards to never again to do 2 laps around Central Park, I cannot handle the Hills of Doom that many times. My husband went to Rutgers so he may not mind a trip back…but without a doubt Brooklyn Half is where the party is at!

  5. HAHA getting passed by old men – I ran a 10k a few years ago, and thought I was doing great, until an elderly gentleman passed me. WALKING. He passed me while I was running, and he was walking. Granted, he had a T shirt on that was from a speedwalking race so obviously he knew what he was doing but if you heard a little “Ppbbbbtt,” that would be my ego deflating.

    I’m training for a goal race- it’s a half marathon with LOTS of hills in it. I’d love to PR or eventually even break 2 hours, but I don’t think this race will be the one to do that. But you never know. So I guess the goal is to finish strong and tackle the hills. And not get passed by speedwalkers.

Leave a Reply

