I can run! I can run! (Kinda)

Screen shot 2014-02-25 at 8.19.17 PMYesterday was another successful run in the sense that I went outside, did all 4 miles without sitting down and gasping for air and did all of them at the recommended pace. It was technically a rest day and technically the next training day in the schedule was speed work but speed work with actual numbers I’m supposed to hit scares the crap out of me so yeah. I did my usual strategy of avoidance and denial. FYI, the mantra for this training cycle is: “the faster I run, the faster I finish, the faster I can go home and re-watch Frozen!!!” The digital download has proven to be the best $20 I’ve spent in a long time.

IMG_2750Registration for Wine & Dine opened yesterday to people who are members of the Disney Vacation Club (DVC), Disney visa cardholders, and Disney Annual Passholders. I’ve got the visa and the annual pass because, as they say, 2 out of 3 ain’t bad. The cost for this year with the registration fee: $197.53. Yeah, I know, I kinda threw up a little bit in my mouth when I saw that. Typically, Wine & Dine is the most expensive half marathon at Disney because it comes with the after party and the giftcard, but it’s still expensive. The thing is, though, I always enjoyed going during Food & Wine anyway so for me it seems like a reasonable tack on expense to the weekend.

Am I seriously considering registering for this race?

Yes. I know, I know, I always end up injured and yeah, it’s the weekend after the NYC marathon which I am super excited about and realize that there’s not a snowball’s chance in hell I could run this and not end up feeling like shit but there’s still a part of me that, despite all the injuries and pain I associate with this race, the annoyingness of a nightScreen shot 2013-12-26 at 8.24.17 PM race, that dead time between lunch and 8pm when I get on the bus… I kinda sorta love it? Is this crazy? Have I completely lost my mind? AM I THAT IN LOVE WITH EPCOT? Other people are all about running through the castle, me, I love running past the geodesic sphere. Is that batshit crazy? Probably. Which makes my meticulously planned spreadsheet look that much more insane.

11 thoughts on “I can run! I can run! (Kinda)

      • Wait, that’s what’s holding you up??! You did a 5k, 10k, half & full on consecutive days and you’re worried about doing a half A WEEK after a full!?!

        Haha. Honestly, my thought is especially if you’re going to run NYCM for time, yes your legs won’t be fully recovered in a week (and I wouldn’t run at all that week)…but I still think you’ll be able to make it through W&D just fine as long as you’re not worried about your time on that one!

        There’s a good chance I’m going to do NYCM this year too (with a charity team) so I’ll be in the same boat, we can run/walk/crawl our way across the finish line at W&D and continue crawling straight to a grapefruit beer!

  1. Um, yeah, I don’t blame you. I caved and registered for the Wine & Dine and really, who can blame us? I have no will power. The race is awesome. You get to eat AND drink! Ok, there’s that whole bit where you have to run, but that just means you get to eat and drink more!

Leave a Reply

