Delayed Onset Stupid

You know how you like, do a marathon so you think you can basically handle anything that requires leg strength because you’ve got the strongest legs ever? Well, as it turns out, that’s actually not the case.

In fact, a 30  27 minute workout video can actually leave you unable to walk three days in a row. HAHAHAHA. it’s actually kinda funny. I should’ve known when the video was called “build a booty” that it was probably not the best idea in the world, but at the time I was fresh off Sunday’s race thinking my ass was as weak as my willpower around ice cream and building a booty sounded like a good idea.

It was not a good idea and I am fairly certain that I’m majorly screwed when my first half comes around one month from tomorrow.

But, the upside to all of this is that I have every intention of heading to Fred and Murray’s Kosher delicatessen after packet pick up and really all I want from life are their delicious crinkle cut fries, a bowl of mushroom barley, and to tell the waiter, “Yeah, no, you can leave those half sour pickles out I only want the full sour!” I better not taste cucumber, dammit.

How do people strength train and run?! HOW?!

10 thoughts on “Delayed Onset Stupid

  1. To answer your question: I DON’T KNOW. I’m going to go home and amputate my legs and then drag myself a few blocks and set fire to the Williamsburg Bridge on-ramp. Why did I think a mid-April half was a good idea?!

  2. The more you do it, the easier it gets to recover. That said, I haven’t done anything resembling strength training for months. The next time I go full-on into it thinking I can do it, I’m sure I’ll be laid up for days. The first few workouts are the worst.

  3. I run and strength train. The key is honestly to not overdo it as you ease into it. Granted, I struggle with fueling my body with enough to recover and build. I tend to overdo it with the cardio portion. It can make a huge difference though. I’m a terrible example though since I dive into everything and then drown in my own enthusiasm.

  4. I try and do it on the days when I have run proper training runs….and then have an easy day the next day so my legs have time to recover. I like doing all the hard work on one day because I feel like working when I’m already fatigued is a good training strategy–whether or not it actually works, well, that is beyond me. lol.
    ~Lisa

Leave a Reply

