10 Days of the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

I don’t know if you know this, but Cherry Blossoms are kind of a big deal around here. You know it’s a big deal because we put it on everything regardless of whether or not it’s seasonally appropriate and Metro actually makes an effort to be functional this time of year, so you know, big deal (riding the metro post from the 26.2 Days of Marine Corps here). The National Cherry Blossom Festival started yesterday despite there being no actual cherry blossoms yet. Minor detail.

This year, I’m making a tradition out of last year’s blossom watch with #BlossomWatch2014 and although it won’t quite be the 26.2 days of Marine Corps, I will host the 10 days of the Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 miler because even though I’m not running, I am actually volunteering and just about everyone around me is talking about it. The credit union at work gives out race entries if you have an account there, so it’s kind of a big deal. There are team shirts and a pep rally which prompts even more of my co-workers to ask me, “sooo, why aren’t you running this again?” Also, shortly after the Cherry Blossom 10 miler is another big DC race: The Nike Women’s 1/2 Marathon on April 27th! (And I’ll take questions if you have them.)

Last year I didn’t run it because I was doing the 9+1 and was in NYC doing two races that weekend. This year, I haven’t volunteered in awhile so I feel like my debt needs to be paid, plus if you volunteer you get a guaranteed entry for next year (you can actually “gift” that guaranteed entry to someone else the last time I checked the rules).

Day 1 of the 10 days of the Cherry Blossom 10 miler is this tip: You don’t have to participate in the race that weekend to work out around the cherry blossoms!

The National Park Service offers free walking tours of the mall with a ranger pretty much daily. In honor of cherry blossom season, they’re offering Cherry Blossom Running Tours on Saturdays (3/29, 4/5, and 4/12) and some walking options including Pups ‘n’ Petals Dog Walk.

Also, you can come out for Cherry Blossom Yoga on the Mall, Saturday April 5 from at 10am-12pm (which I actually plan on doing this year).

11 thoughts on “10 Days of the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

  1. I actually saw an ad for cherry blossom sightseeing in a recent issue of the New Yorker. I’ve never been to D.C. in the spring and the last time I decided to visit on a whim, the government decided to shut down, so I feel like I don’t have the best track record with the city … I’d visit and the cherry blossoms would either not have bloomed yet or they’d already be gone.

    • They can be temperamental. They’re predicting second week in April for peak, but we’re supposedly getting another winter storm next Tuesday night and temps back in the 30s, so I’m skeptical.

      You’ll definitely have to give DC another chance, though. I can get you in the 10 miler guaranteed next year!

      • That sounds delightful. It also rained most of the time I was there during my shutdown weekend getaway, so I didn’t get to go on as many runs as I wanted to. I did imagine a short jaunt to the Capitol and back to the Airbnb condo I was in.

        The Nike Women’s Half is always right around my birthday, too, so that’s been in the back of my mind for awhile. Birthday run!

  2. I’ve always said I wanted to go to DC for the festival. I ran the race a couple of years ago and the blossoms were already gone. I love that the race offers guaranteed entry if you volunteer- and the finish line is my favorite place!

  3. Pingback: 10 Days of the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler: Hains Point | Pink Elephant on Parade

Leave a Reply

