Shitcago Bound

Naturally, as you all know, my mom is super supportive of just about everything I do. Like my going home this weekend–she was 100% behind that decision and couldn’t be happier.

A few weeks ago I put my name in for the Chicago Marathon lottery because I figured what the hell, it could be one of those “I’ll let God decide” moments. Screen shot 2014-04-14 at 5.42.02 PMWell, apparently God and my mother are not on the same page because I actually ended up getting in and I imagine my parents’ house is now much like Maleficent’s forbidden mountain with my mother raging about this new development in my fall calendar and my father is one of those goons who works for her trying to figure out why it’s such a big deal that her almost 30 year old daughter wants to go to Chicago for a marathon and the word “baby” being thrown around a LOT. Here’s how breaking the exciting news went:

Me: “Mom! I got into the Chicago marathon in the fall!”
Mom: “What? What are you talking about?”
Me: “I put my name in for the lottery, and I got in so I can run Chicago in the fall. It’s October 12!”
Mom: “What the hell are you going to Shitcago for?” (This is what my mom calls Chicago.)
“I’ve never been, I’d like to go, it’ll be fun.”
Mom: “Do you want to get shot? Do you even have someone to go with you? Because I am telling you right now there’s no way in hell I’m going to Shitcago.”
“Um. Okay. I’m still excited and I’m still going, you don’t have to come with me.”
Mom: “Listen, Nicole, I don’t want to talk about this right now. The Five just went on and I’m not talking about this, you want to make stupid choices, you make stupid choices.”

She will now continue to pretend like I’m not going and any time I bring it up will just change the subject for the next, oh, 6 months.

I’m not saying it’ll all be easy breezy, especially since I’m still doing NYC the first Sunday in November, but since I’ve never been and it’ll be a totally new experience, I don’t want to turn it down.

Who else is doing Chicago? I have never been there so please tell me all about it! What do people do there? Is it really that windy? Where’s a good place to stay? I know nothing about this place, they don’t even have a real housewives franchise, do they?

20 thoughts on “Shitcago Bound

  1. LOL…geez…when moms have a bias, they have a bias! My mom is similar when I bring up going somewhere. It’s either, “Why would you want to go there?” or “I’m not going to there!” Um…I didn’t really assume you were going in the first place…

  2. Yay, congrats! I’ve heard so many great things about this race but I didn’t enter the lottery because I’m attempting (and not doing so great…) to control my race/ running spending so another race that involved a hotel & flight probably wouldn’t have helped that!

  3. Congratulations! I mean, Chicago has OK pizza, but otherwise, it’s a pretty nice town. Plus you’ll have to reenact multiple scenes from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off! Or at least randomly sing “Twist and Shout” while walking/running there.

    So far the only race my mom hasn’t rolled her eyes at me for wanting to do/doing is the Atlantic City Half Marathon…and that’s because it gives her an “excuse” to go to AC…again…after going there pretty much once a month anyway.

  4. I genuinely love Chicago and can’t believe you’ve never been there! Avoid the pizza but the rest of the food is amazing. The museums are great, the aquarium is great, the lakefront is such a fun place to run. Go to Wicker Park for hipster coffee shops and good vegetarian food and cute-ass stores. Someday I’ll get in and run it but honestly I don’t think I could afford it this year, so maybe it’s better this way? (That’s what I’m telling myself.)

  5. Chicago is a great city. Yes, sometimes it is quite windy (though that’s not really where the nickname comes from 😉 ). The pizza is fantastic, as long as you go to the right places for it (deep dish and thin crust = love). People enjoy going to Millennium Park, The Art Institute, The Shedd Aquarium, The Field Museum, Sears (Willis) Tower, Lincoln Park Zoo… lots of things to do! I’m hoping to be at the marathon to cheer on the runners 🙂

Leave a Reply

