The Goal

Screen shot 2014-04-18 at 7.50.14 AMLast night was a big planning night. I sat down with a spreadsheet and calendar to figure out how I was going to do all my fall races financially and physically. Shit, I’m tired already. Financially, it’s going to be tight. Jesus Christ is it going to be tight. But I think I can swing it and still afford to do other things like eat. Maybe. Hopefully.

The most important goal for this summer/fall is pretty simple: get through it alive and not completely financially destitute. But I’ve got some ancillary ones that are probably good ideas, too.

Goal 1: NYC is still my goal race. That’s right, if I’m going to pick a venue for being awesome, it’s New York City, so I’m going to try and not kill myself at Chicago. (I never in a million years thought I would say “not kill myself” doing a marathon as though that were possible.) I learned a valuable lesson at Dopey: I can do the higher mileage, I just have to be smart about it.

Goal 2: Don’t get injured. I’m looking directly at you, Wine & Dine half marathon. This is a big one, but I found out last fall that it’s also a really important one. Being smart and prudent about injuries will go a long way towards getting me to the start/finish lines in one piece and will help me keep doing my training. I plan on a 2 week break after NYC before I start getting ready for Dopey and I know I’ll need it mentally and physically. It’s cool, I’m happy to take the time if it means I’m happy and excited for Dopey.

Goal 3: I’m going to do other stuff, too! Last year I stopped rowing in the fall because my marathon mileage was peaking and I just felt like I didn’t have the time. This year, I plan on rowing through the season (spring-October/November). I’m shopping around for plans now and hoping to do one that’s 4 days a week. Three doesn’t quite do it for me and I think if I want to keep rowing 4 days a week, 5 days of running might be too much in the summer months.

Goal 4: Fun. If nothing else, I’m really excited to have what is shaping up to be a very social fall running season! A reunion with my 2015 WDW Marathon buddy Katherine at the Chicago marathon and on top of that to be doing Dopey and Wine & Dine with Jenn and Katherine this year! I have yet to travel to WDW or any other race for that matter with people who are genuinely excited/there explicitly for races and will thus understand why I need to pass out immediately following the marathon and why I’ll be in bed asleep at 7 during Dopey. Oh, and the dining reservations.

Any tips and/or suggestions for doing lots of races in a short period of time? Any fun fall goals (because yes, I just totally skipped summer)?

 

7 thoughts on “The Goal

  1. Yayyyyy! Chicago will probably be my fall goal marathon, we’ll see how the schedule and my training works out, but I”m excited to hang regardless. Fun will be had

  2. Yay! I need to take a look at my fall schedule and start putting together a plan.

    Isn’t Chicago supposed to be flatter/ faster than NY? I decided I don’t want to make NYC my goal race as far as time b/c I figure it’s going to be a once in a lifetime race and I want to be able to take some pictures and see all the people I know who will be out spectating. I’m looking at dong a different fall marathon for time and just enjoying New York.

    And “don’t get injured” is definitely a goal of mine too if I’ll be doing 3 full marathons in 3 months!

  3. I feel the same way about the money. I’m sitting on several race registrations because one voice in my head is telling me I can’t afford it while another is telling me to just do it. I just signed up for the Seattle Rock and Roll because my mom offered to pay airfare if I go up there with her to visit my brother. That’s great, but hotel and the race registration cost me what doing three local races would cost. Stoopid money.

Leave a Reply

