Run Less. That Works.

IMG_3060“Man has a dream, and that’s the start…” And then he starts to follow his dream and realizes how bad an idea that was.

There are currently two things dominating my thoughts: that I need to start getting ready for fall marathon training and that I am going through Disney withdrawal big time. Nothing goes with marathoning like a mickey waffle, am I right?

Fall marathon season is upon us even though it’s currently 90 something degrees out. Remember when you were all excited for your fall marathon because it was spring and you enjoyed being outside and you thought of all the cider donuts you could eat if you ran a marathon in October/November? Your mind skipped over summer, didn’t it?

Anyway. I’ve been plan shopping for awhile now. Some people will tell you they don’t train for marathons, they just run them and of course they PR them and they end up running them faster than you do but here I like to be the blog that makes you feel better about yourself so here is my disclaimer: I have to train for marathons, like really put in the effort and the work and just actually follow a plan. I can’t just show up at a marathon and hope for the best because I know the best is going to be horrific. My track record for following a marathon training plan is about 90-95% of the runs are done and the missed runs usually come at the end when I’m just tired.

Long story short (too late): It takes a lot of work for me to be the so-so runner I am today.

Screen shot 2014-02-01 at 7.05.04 PMAt the start of my marathon training, my assessment is that my plan needs to accommodate the following:

  • I don’t really feel like running as much-last year’s plan was 5 days a week and I think I can scale it back
  • I’m doing a lot more in the cross training department than I was a year ago so my plan needs to accommodate that
  • I need to finish NYC without injuring myself
  • PRing is not a priority

Setting up my fall marathon is important because I want to be ready to finish Wine & Dine 4 days later and after that it’s basically maintenance mode for November and December, and my number 1 priority is to maintain pain and injury free running. So for this training round I’m going with Run Less, Run Faster. It accommodates my cross training and since NYC coincides with the end of the DC rowing season, I know I’ll be getting in 4-5 days of cross training in addition to my running (and given that we’re going to race at the end of the summer and I learned to scull this morning, rowing has certainly been upping the intensity). 20140620-072229.jpg20140620-072213.jpgI picked my marathon pace in an exceptionally conservative fashion in the spirit of not being overly concerned with PRs.  I tried out a few of the runs with the times suggested for my goal marathon time and even with the heat the paces had a manageable discomfort to them. In a lot of ways, it was good because I picked based off of what I am running right now and how I’m feeling and you know, it felt good to not set myself up for failure.

So, has anyone else set up their plan for their fall races?

6 thoughts on “Run Less. That Works.

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one that actually has to work to be mediocre! 🙂 Someone I know just posted on Facebook that he went for a run for the first time after 4 years and knee surgery and was happy with his 9:30 miles. I only dream of sub-10 miles most of the time. Ugh.

  2. Have you thought about doing Galloway? I’m training for my first marathon after completing several Halfs. I’ve decided avoiding injury is my top priority so I’m doing run-walk-run. I joined a Galloway training group and so far so good.

    • I started out using Galloway for the Disneyland 1/2 but for me the starting/stopping of the intervals never quite panned out, plus for the marathon plans he has some really long runs and I like to max out around 20.

      But I have heard great things about the groups and I know a few people who are much faster than I am doing it!

  3. I’m using the Run Less Run Faster book for my marathon training too, I’m usually terrible at getting in speed work but I really want to try to do it this time. I’m just trying to decide on my time goal because the time goal it says I should be using based on my last half PR seems WAAAAY ambitious.

  4. I did…and this last week when I was in Ottawa for both work and play, it completely died by being over stuffed with delicious food. It starts up again today, though.

    Good luck! I can’t wait to hear about/watch you train this summer!
    ~Lisa

Leave a Reply

