Glorious Fall: Or less than 2 months (Oh $hit)

1379738_10151678204257409_1572173773_nIt occurred to me last night while I was out doing my tempo run (I kept telling myself the discomfort was tempo-rary, get it?!) I realized that the NYC Marathon is less than 2 months away!

That can only mean one thing: glorious fall is on the horizon.

The great thing about fall marathons is that by this point, if you live in the mid-Atlantic anything below 80 degrees feel downright chilly but you’ve prepared by running in 80+ degree temperatures with high humidity so anything the race can throw at you you’re kind of ready for weather-wise. This is in direct contrast to the Walt Disney World Marathon in January where you’ve been training in cooler temperatures and suddenly you get to Disney and you’re reminded, “oh, right, fuck it’s in Florida.” It’s easier to transition to colder weather, for me anyway, than it is to transition into heat and humidity that just kind of bitch slaps you across the face.

I cannot wait for fall, though. It is my favorite season. We have Thanksgiving and religiously neutral lunches at work, the air is cool and crisp, the LEAVES, the apple cider donuts, SOUP. I’ve already transitioned to soup season and will be making corn chowder this weekend as well as possibly some mushroom bisque and tomato bisque because I make a delicious tomato bisque. And my own stuffing that is homemade cornbread with mushrooms and sage and rosemary that is amazing.

We’re back to having actual holidays I can decorate for and watch topically relevant movies. There’s nothing more fun for me in December than finishing my long run for the WDW marathon and then crashing on the couch with hot chocolate and cookies to watch a Christmas movie. It really is my favorite season and I have to say, I can’t imagine living somewhere without seasons. Summer just makes you appreciate fall that much more.

What are we excited about for fall?!

 

15 thoughts on “Glorious Fall: Or less than 2 months (Oh $hit)

  1. I AM SO EXCITED FOR FALL! It’s my favorite season. And we’ll hopefully be getting married too, so there’s that. Hooray for hoodies and boots and pumpkin flavored everything!

  2. So looking forward to running at an almost normal pace because the humidity isn’t drowning me in my own sweat after walking a block! And pumpkin! All things Pumpkin!

    Btw, I made this amazing Roasted Tomato and Bacon soup…pretty sure it would go great with that corn bread πŸ™‚

  3. I can’t believe how fast NYCM is coming up! Fall is my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE, and not just because I am freakin’ tired of sweating my ass off during my training runs. I am sooo looking forward to a few weeks or semi-reasonable running temperatures, though, and November will be here before we know it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

