How to get up early

The secret to getting up early is threefold and I am going to share with you my secret for getting up before the sun every single day of the week.

Screen shot 2014-09-08 at 8.41.20 PMFirst: You need a good reason to get up early.
To get yourself into a wake up early routine, you need a really good reason. I don’t find that I’m more willing to do a workout if I’m with a group. If it were a running group I don’t know if that would motivate me to get out of bed early since I could easily run alone later. Rowing was my excuse because with my work schedule and life the way it is, it’s either in the morning or not at all. Morning people need a good reason to be up, and if it’s not a good reason for you, enjoy sleeping in.

Second: You get up early every. single. damn. day.
I know what you’re thinking, girl’s gone crazy, but I’m telling you: it’s a lot easier to get up early when you get up early every day, including weekends and days you don’t have to get up early. I’m not saying you go out and do anything at 6 am on a Saturday, but you will find that once you let your body adjust to the time difference it becomes a lot easier and a lot less forced. Suddenly, getting up at 5 am feels the same as getting up at 7 am or 6:00 am will feel like you slept in.

Screen shot 2014-09-08 at 8.40.51 PMPersonally, I continue this pattern on the weekends. My new “sleep in” time on the weekends is around 6/6:30 am. The difference is that while I’m awake at that time, I don’t do anything and I sure as hell don’t get out of bed. It’s not that I’m not awake to do my long runs early on the weekends, it’s that I like being able to do things at my leisure without feeling obligated to be somewhere/do something, so what I really enjoy is watching Murder, She Wrote while still sitting in bed in my pajamas. That, my friends, is bliss even if it is at 6:45 in the morning.

The most important part of this is that it helps you fall asleep early. As my friend and I said to one of the girls we row with who said she couldn’t handle the mornings but was going to bed at 10-11 pm: “Well, there’s your problem! You gotta be in bed at 9!” We had a 2 week break and guess what? At the end, no one could get their ass out of bed for the first day back. Coincidence? I think now.

Third: You need a really good alarm.
Even on good days, sometimes you need something to help you out and a good wake up alarm can do the trick. The regular ringtones on my iPhone just don’t cut it. I hate the sound so much I turn off the alarm and start to doze off again. Fucking seaside.

Anyway, I recently switched to Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody” and I discovered that it’s perfect. It starts out softly with the words “open your eyes” and builds up til you’re out of bed doing a Wayne’s World as you’re getting dressed. And even better, at 5 minutes 55 seconds it’s perfectly timed so that by the time the song is ending I’m dressed and walking out the door.

I also highly recommend the Muppet Show theme song (I use that for Disney races), “Unbelievers” by Vampire Weekend, and “No Sleep ’til Brooklyn” by the Beastie Boys (I’ve been using this for summer long runs getting ready for NYC), and of course “Fat Bottomed Girls” is always a crowd pleaser.

Anyone an early riser?

19 thoughts on “How to get up early

  1. I totally need to go change my alarm. Right now I just use the boring old bell tower. Waking up at 5:10 has to be more fun than bells.

  2. Haha, great post. I’ve always been an early riser, but I gotta tell you, getting up at the crack of dawn for these NYCM long runs has NOT been pleasant. Another good source of motivation? Knowing that if you sleep in and attempt starting a long run after 9am on a 80+ degree day, I might just die… 😉

  3. Awesome post! I’m getting back into my early morning routine and I’ve found it is definitely easier when you get up early EVER day! I love the idea of waking up to bohemian rhapsody!

  4. I just wanted to say thanks for posting this. I usually get up at 7. Today I got up at 6 to go for a run. And yes, I was woken up by the sound of bohemian rhapsody and yes, I’ve left my alarm set for 6!

  5. Pingback: How to Wake Up Early Part Deux | Pink Elephant on Parade

Leave a Reply

