Healthy Living Friday

I don’t know about everyone else, but I read enough running blogs to have come across quite a few that talk about how they go on things like “spin class” happy hours with their friends followed by salads and smoothies or some such healthy crap.

A few friends from my rowing group suggested doing a detox of sorts over the next two weeks to get ready for our race at the end of the month. But they also wanted to go out for happy hour next Thursday since as we say in our rowing group, “Thursday is the new Friday” because we don’t have practice on Fridays. So naturally, sitting in the boat this morning, I said to one of them, “well, you know, instead of going to a bar and eating fried foods we could go to a workout class then have sensible salads at some locally sourced, organic place.” I couldn’t see her face since she was sitting directly in front of me but I can assure you that we both started laughing at the same time. “Waffle fries with bacon and ranch dressing?” “Yup.”

4 thoughts on “Healthy Living Friday

  1. We’re having a CrossFit happy hour next Thursday. Rule 1 of CrossFit happy hour: you do not eat/drink anything healthy. Rule 2 of CrossFit happy hour: you do not eat/drink anything healthy.

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmm bacon.

  2. Yeah, I’m sorry, I don’t go to workout classes with my friends. I go to bars. Or Mexican food joints. And after workouts, I’m too sweaty to go out, so I go home and binge watch TV

Leave a Reply

