Thanks, Mom.

I’ve been trying to figure out how I feel about participating in races ever since the Staten Island half marathon this weekend. At the end of the race, I plopped myself onto the grass and buried my head in my hands and decided races are not for me anymore.

And I still feel that way. I still feel like I don’t want to do any more races because I’m in downward spiral of terrible runs that just keeps getting worse.

And I would’ve gladly deferred all the races I’m currently registered for, except I finished talking with my mom this morning and she had to go open her big fat mouth and now I can’t defer, NOW I HAVE TO DO THE MARATHON JUST BECAUSE SHE SAID I COULDN’T.

Thanks for nothing, mom, if you’d just been a little more supportive I could’ve called it a day on this one.

15 thoughts on “Thanks, Mom.

  1. I’m sorry Staten Island went so poorly for you and that I didn’t see you at any point (I decided to just immediately leave the island after people were staring at me since I was making involuntary pain noises) but I know you can do this. WE HAVE SEVERAL MAGICAL PLANS AND YOU CAN’T BACK OUT NOW! Also I’m planning on spectating NYC … I live like a block away from the race course at mile 10.5ish in Brooklyn … if you don’t defer tell me what you want to see on a sign and I will make it especially for you and tell you where to look for me!!!

  2. I would also like to thank Mom, since, well, I’m supposed to run like 3 races with you. WHO WILL CARRY ME THROUGH THE MARATHON IF YOU DON’T RUN?!?! WHO WILL THANK THE PHOENICIANS WITH ME IF YOU DON’T RUN?!?! PR IN FUN!!!!! FROZEN THEMED MEDALS!!!!

    I have a 5K and a half marathon scheduled this weekend and I’m terrified. I haven’t really run since my DNF debacle and well, now I’m just scared to run. I wish I had something wise to say to make you feel better, but I don’t…all I can say is, stick with me kid and you’ll feel like a running superstar! 🙂

  3. I just want to say THANK ALL THE MOMS for motivating us to do things. Even thought it might have been backhanded, but whatever. Can we run all the WDW Marathon weekend races together? After the fall I’ve had, I just want to spend 5+ hours laughing and having a wonderful time near the sewage plant of Disney world. And eating, of course.

  4. Haha, awww…it’s funny because I’m not really excited about NYCM, but I do still get excited about other races. Honestly, if I didn’t have a race to look forward to I am 100% sure I would get totally lazy about running and never actually run any more!

Leave a Reply

