Wine & Dine Countdown: Go to Sleep

PicMonkey CollageA mere 6 days after I run the NYC Marathon I’m heading to Disney World for the Wine & Dine Half Marathon. Why? Because self-control is vastly overrated, that’s why.

Night races are kind of a weird Disney phenomena in many respects. It’s not typical for you to start a race around 10 pm and as someone with a 9 IMG_2750pm bedtime, this race has a strange effect on me. If this is your first time running the Wine & Dine half marathon, be warned that friendships and familial bonds will be tested by how cranky you’ll be on Sunday as a result of exhaustion. I may have started screaming at my sister in Epcot because I was in so much pain and so tired the first time we went that I couldn’t function like a normal human being. It was bad.

The moral of the story is you can’t do this kind of thing on 8 hours of sleep spread out over 4 days, it just doesn’t work.

As always, when traveling to Disney World with non-runners who only participate in the after party, be really upfront with them about how you’ll be feeling and set expectations accordingly. Maybe you’re not walking too well the next day and something hurts, or you can’t eat certain places on Saturday because you’ll either throw it up or crap it out, whatever it is just tell them honestly.

No one likes to be that attraction at Disney World, you know, the one where vacationers turn on each other and dramatically and loudly tell their travel party how much they hate them.

19 thoughts on “Wine & Dine Countdown: Go to Sleep

  1. hahahah! I have been trying to prepare my travel mates for GSC regarding this whole thing (not being able to do as much as you’d like, eat, etc because of the impacts on the race).

    That all being said, I really enjoyed doing ToT–it was my first night race ever and I loved the fact that I didn’t feel like death to start. 🙂

  2. Last year I got by on a relative little lack of sleep, but somehow I kept forgetting to eat proper meals, and it turns out that also can drastically affect your mood … LESSONS LEARNED

  3. I may or may not be more excited about Wine & Dine than I am about NYCM (definitely am). Honestly, it’s one of my favorite weekends of the year. I always travel and go with a group of running friends and we have such a great time – it’s really just a food & wine festival binge with a 13.1 mile run thrown in the middle as our excuse to go!

  4. I am so excited about this trip! And I’m so excited about this run! And I’m so excited about all the food! Of which I am clearly eating way more than you Ms. $35. I find all my crankiness will go away with the Australia lamb chop (and/or griddled cheese) and grapefruit beer in hand!

Leave a Reply

