Wine & Dine Countdown: After Party

PicMonkey CollageThe after party is a great idea. You get Epcot shut down to general admission and it’s a special, hard ticket event and you just park your ass on Soarin’ and stay on til the park closes. In theory, this is wonderful and in reality you can indeed do this on Soarin’.

Thing is, the after party is great for people who aren’t running. If you just finished running 13.1 miles you probably feel like crap, smell like crap, and maybe you need to crap, too. I haven’t mastered the after party yet because I’m the kind of person who, post run, wants to get washed and change their clothes. I really want to get washed. It’s a weird hang up, I know, but I find it difficult to relax and have fun when I’m not clean.

Screen shot 2014-10-22 at 7.59.17 PMBut, this year I’ve vowed to make some changes. Normally, I just bring a hoodie to put over my running clothes. No more, friends! I plan on bringing a complete set of dry clothes that I can check and change into at the party. This includes underwear, guys, because if your shirt is sweaty, chances are your bra and your underpants are sweaty, too. Sweaty at night leads to clammy and uncomfortable and chilly especially if you’re walking in and out of air conditioned spaces.

I ordered these red and white dot fleece PJ pants from Old Navy today (a Minnie inspired look without the Disney licensing price tag). I will be bringing my shower clothe things that I brought last year, too, as well as clean, dry underwear.

Makes a world of difference, people.

10 thoughts on “Wine & Dine Countdown: After Party

  1. Hmmmmm…I really wanted to just “update” my costume from the half for the after party, but the more you talk about PJs, the more I REALLY want to wear some (Disney of course) for it. Now I’m just torn 😦

  2. Last year I definitely got nude in the changing tent and wiped myself down with shower wipes before changing into clean underwear, leggings and a sweatshirt. I felt relatively clean at the afterparty, but nauseated. Hopefully the humidity won’t be at “oh, my face is peeling off” levels.

  3. I really WANTED to party the night away after last year’s W&D. Instead, I took one turn around the countries and then my hurting foot decided that I was done. 😦 And my need for a shower. And the fact that it was so late and I was sooooo tired.

Leave a Reply

