26.2 Days of Fall Marathoning: NYC Marathon Expo

Screen shot 2014-10-02 at 8.00.56 PMIt’s almost time, you guys.

4 days.

I think I’m going to vomit.

2014 hasn’t panned out to be the year of great running for me, so I’m approaching this race the same way I did the Nike Half back in April: just don’t completely give up and throw in the towel and you’ll be fine. I’m hoping to actually return to some old style runs, where I have a good time and actually enjoy myself and the crowds and give out high fives to everyone and just hope no one has Ebola. Today and tomorrow the focus is on eating well, sleeping a lot, and trying to drink as much water as possible. This is proving harder than I anticipated because I’ve been feeling sick the last couple weeks, having a series of migraines, and am currently disinterested in food. I don’t even want pasta, you guys, that’s how you know it’s bad. On top of that, this is the last week of the rowing season and I just can’t bring myself to miss practice in the morning even though it’s been harder workouts and I could probably use the extra sleep. Did I mention the sunrises have been beautiful? They have.

Friday I’m finishing my 9+1 credit to qualify for the 2015 NYC Marathon by volunteering as a media greeter from 9 am to 3 pm at the expo. I know it’s insane to volunteer to get guaranteed entry to a race that I’m not even really excited about running right now, but it’s like getting all the holes on your frequent buyer card punched and then not getting the free cookie. You just have to do it for the sake of completion. Plus, I have this sinking feeling that I’m going to run it and love it and really want to do it next year even though it’s the day after my sister’s wedding, so just in case…

I really don’t want to spend a lot of time at the expo (aside from my 6 hours as a volunteer). I haven’t seen a list of vendors, which is great because I am in no place to be spending a lot of money on anything right now since Disney just approved my buying resale DVC points. Plus, I need more race shirts like I need another hole in my head.

Up tomorrow: The race outfit that is completely not suitable for the current weather forecast!

 

11 thoughts on “26.2 Days of Fall Marathoning: NYC Marathon Expo

  1. Ugh. Just in case you haven’t quite figured it out yet, I am completely dreading this race! I have zero feeling that I am going to end up loving it and ever wanting to do it again. Pretty sure this one just isn’t going to be for me and it’s going to be a VEEEEERRRRRRY long 26.2 miles : (

  2. Danielle and Nicole you two will finish and be fine. It isn’t about the time on the clock but about enjoying the experience. There will be so much crowd support and you will get caught up in the moment. The miles will just click off.
    At the end you will get to say you are apart of the 1% that runs marathon and want to do it again.
    Besides you get to eat anything you want afterwards guilt free because you just burned off 5,000 calories. Have 10 cupcakes!
    Good luck!

  3. It’s surprising what the excitement on race morning/day can do in helping a runner get through a race. Don’t dread it and go with the energy that will be huge from all the other runners and the crowds. By the way, those crowds will be amazing! Can;t wait to hear about your expo volunteer job and have fun!

  4. YOU CAN DO IT. Be prepared for Disney cheering via Twitter, although my puns aren’t quite as good as yours…wait, be prepared can be one! Awesome.

  5. Good luck, Sweets. Just do your best and enjoy the experience of running NYC. It’s a race I have wanted to do for about half a decade…so just soak up each moment and look at 2014 as a year of growth and character building in your running career (that is what I am opting to do, given my 2014 running didn’t go so hot either).

Leave a Reply

