Brooklyn, Bronx, Queens, and Staten to Manhattan: NYC Marathon

I have always done marathons alone. I always trained alone, I always did the actual marathon alone, and max on the course I saw someone out cheering for me specifically twice and that was really only for the first one (after that it was max 1 time). There’s no denying that I wasn’t looking forward to the NYC Marathon, that I didn’t feel like I was going to be able to finish it, or that I quite honestly felt like I didn’t really want to do another race much less a marathon.

IMG_4550So, I am not joking when I say that this marathon never would’ve happened without some really wonderful friends who basically are the only reason I finished and I’m still trying to figure out how I cut up the medal so everyone gets a piece of it. My two teammates from my rowing team basically followed me for 26.2 miles, from riding the ferry to Staten Island with me to seeing me at 59th street and 6th Ave. I saw them no fewer than 6 times, and each time they were there yelling “WHY ARE YOU STOPPING KEEP GOING!”

As if that weren’t enough, just before mile 11 in Brooklyn I saw the absolutely wonderful Katherine who handed me the one of two things I would eat during the race: the most delicious Haribo gummi bears EVER. Also, she’s got a really great leopard jacket that I would like to borrow.

But like they say on the infomercials, wait, there’s more! Kellie conquered her fear of a cold, watery death to join me in Queens and she ran over the 59th St bridge with me. And she sang. and we sang about how much we hated bridges and love America and she handed me the most delicious bagel I’ve ever had in my entire life.

IMG_4590So basically, I need a minimum of 4 medals and I’m the last person who should get one. I’m so insanely grateful to all the lovely ladies who made this possible because I know as I started to crash and burn, if it hadn’t been for “just one more mile to Jen and Melissa!” “just have to get to 10.5 for Katherine!” and “I can’t wait to see Kellie in 2 miles!” I never would’ve finished.  Never really started crying during a marathon-even when I was in pretty bad pain at the WDW marathon this year, it was a brief moment of desperation before I stopped.

This time, no fewer than 5 times did I start crying thinking of how incredibly lucky I was to have such great people helping me out. And then Kellie and I started singing Golden Dream from the American Experience and I mean, how could you not start crying?!

No PR, 2nd worst marathon time, BUT THE BEST MARATHON EVER.

Thanks, Ladies. This one’s for you.

 

11 thoughts on “Brooklyn, Bronx, Queens, and Staten to Manhattan: NYC Marathon

  1. AWWWWWWWWWW! Oh great, now I’m bawling too! Listen you were/are amazing! You rocked this thing because you finished this thing! YOU DID IT!

    WDW MARATHON IS GOING TO BE AMAZING! And also possibly/probably your slowest marathon time ever…BUT MARATHON PR IN FUN! 🙂

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more, sometimes a marathon really is a team effort!

    I felt exactly like you did going into this race, but looking forward to seeing friends along the way REALLY helped to get me through it! I honestly was SOOOO excited to see Kellie, it was the perfect time for a pick me up and then I saw my family twice at mile 18 and 23.

    I’m so sad I missed Katherine though : (

  3. Congratulations on your finish! The wind was insane. I’m glad you had great friends there, it definitely makes all the difference!

    I keep trying to figure out how to recap NYCM and mostly I just feel really disappointed in myself, the weather, everything. It wasn’t the marathon I had dreamed of for years. Maybe one day I’ll try it again but for now, the half is my distance.

  4. Wow….every recap I read of NYC Marathon makes me realize how awesome everyone was to finish. It was a test of a runners will against the elements and a huge congrats to you and everyone who was able to accomplish it. Your friends were so great to coax you along the way, and treats like gummi bears would give you a pick me up. Enjoy the victory of running on a wicked day!

Leave a Reply

