Winter Training

Ah, the brisk chill in the air. The seemingly constant darkness. My increasingly depressed outlook and despair over never seeing the sun.

Winter is here. Does anyone else work in a windowless office that means they see the sun for maybe an hour a day? Maybe.

It’s been dreary and rainy a lot, which has not been conducive to running. I’m slowly but surely getting out there to run but alas, my efforts to diversify my activities have proven to suck out my energy to run. Imagine, if you will, that you get up early in the morning to work out and then you get out of work and go out because you have to exercise again.

This is a sucky schedule that I’ve been at since last April.

I’m gearing up for Dopey, which means doing 2 longer runs in December (I’m planning a 16-18 miler and a 20 miler) and shorter weekday runs. The downside is that I’m also doing winter training for rowing, which is great because we’re actually learning about weightlifting so I’m learning the proper form for deadlifts and overhead presses and such. Except, I get up at 5 am to do this, so by the time I get out of work I’m not really in the mood to go out and run for an hour. I kinda want to crash on my couch and go to sleep by 8 pm, and my body is all, “god dammit, I woke up early to work out, LET ME JUST VEGETATE IN PEACE” in the evening.

From people on some more competitive rowing teams, I’ve heard a lot about the “two-a-day” schedule as a common thing, one session in the morning and one in the evening and Runner’s World always has that article about running twice in one day. Maybe that works when you’re in school, if you aren’t responsible for making your own dinner, doing your own laundry, and have the boundless energy of an exuberant youth, but dammit I’m old, full time employed, and crotchety, I don’t have the energy for this!

And to make all this more real, corral assignments are up for Marathon weekend! Corral K, prepare to be astounded, amazed, and entertained by me and my good friend running her first marathon, a certain Ms. Kellie

Any ever do this two a day thing?

9 thoughts on “Winter Training

  1. Oh yeah, we are gonna blow corral K’s mind for 26.2 miles! BOOM! And yeah, 2 a days suck which is why my mid week runs have kinda disappeared (which also means my speed work disappeared). CrossFit at lunch time, by the time I come home from work AND have to prepare dinner for hubby and myself…yeah, that run ain’t happening. I’m tired and pooped and my body is going to revolt any day now. But YAY FOR DEADLIFTS! Seriously, you’re going to do them and be like “why the hell does Kellie love these stupid ass things?” but THEY’RE AWESOME!

  2. I am amazed that you get up at 5am every day to work out. I did that for about a week and then stopped cause I hated it. It’s all I can do to get myself to the gym 3 times a week, let alone 2 times a day. And HOORAY KORRAL K FOR KELLIE!!

  3. “Maybe that works when you’re in school, if you aren’t responsible for making your own dinner, doing your own laundry, and have the boundless energy of an exuberant youth, but dammit I’m old, full time employed, and crotchety,” <<—YES!!! The older you get, the more you need to exercise but the less time you have to do it!! I hate growing up.

Leave a Reply

