Dopey Challenge 2015: The Walt Disney World Marathon

IMG_5391Oh my God, you guys, the Walt Disney World Marathon weekend this year was amazing. Each race was better than the last and the marathon was just the pinnacle of awesome. I’ve been down on running lately and feeling kind of blah about the whole endeavor and I was seriously doubting whether or not I’d be able to get through this marathon. It’s possible that on Sunday morning as I was getting my stuff together at 3:45 am I had to keep repeating to myself, “ok, get it together, Kellie‘s doing her first marathon so you just have to keep your shit together. FAILURE IS NOT AN OPTION.”

I said there were some serious doubts. IMG_5398

It’s funny how when you run with a friend, you suddenly become able to get your shit together in a way that you wouldn’t if you were just running by yourself. As god is my witness, I’ve never smiled so much in a marathon before in my life. There’s a 95% certainty that as I was marveling over the fireworks at the start line and chanting along with the announcers, every other runner in corral K thought I was on crack I was so amped up, peppy, perky, and excited.

Which is even weirder when you consider that I’d been up at that ungodly hour for 4 consecutive days at that point.

IMG_5402I will tell you all, though, that running someone’s first marathon with them is an incredible honor. They maybe don’t know it yet, but you’re basically getting invited to a huge moment in their lives and you’re going to see them at both their absolute best and at a pretty low, crappy point. As a repeat marathoner, you’re responsible for monitoring their pace, for being their front row cheerleader, and the tough love meanie who’s yelling, “IF YOU WANTED TO DO SOMETHING COMFORTABLE YOU SHOULD’VE STAYED ON YOUR COUCH!”

IMG_5393And you get to see the amazing resiliency of the human body and spirit, as at mile 25.5 after a few miles of “I can’t run anymore! This is the fastest I can go! I’m in pain!” they suddenly start sprinting when they see someone waiting for them with a beer. I’m not kidding, you want a marathoner to go faster just hold out a beer for them. Girl took off like a bat out of hell when she spotted that beer from half a mile away. That girl is a huge liar when she tells you she’s slow. Slow my ass.

I’d tell you all to go out and run with Kellie because it’ll be the best marathon ever, but she has retired from the marathon for now (with the full support of her family in this decision). I’m hoping that by the time registration for the 2016 marathon rolls around, she will have forgotten about this decision, though…

But Marathon #5 is done and I am actually pretty happy with the result! IMG_5418

15 thoughts on “Dopey Challenge 2015: The Walt Disney World Marathon

  1. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Ok, I literally laughed out loud reading this. I think the few coworkers I have here thought I was crazy. Believe me, I could not have asked for a better person to get me through this thing! And seriously, YOU got me through it. Could not have done it with out you! And I apologize for the absolute miserable human being I became like the instant we left AK.

    And maybe I’ll do another one (probably not next year though). Only because I KNOW I can do it now, and I KNOW I can run it better! Despite what my legs were saying, I definitely could’ve/should’ve pushed the pace more. But you HAVE to run it with me! And you have to do my 18 and 20 milers with me. These are my terms.

  2. You ladies are SO awesome! I really like what you said about running someone’s first marathon with them and it being a BIG deal. Not that I’m there, personally, but when I did my first half a couple of years ago I was so grateful to have two of my best running friends with me. Especially during mile 9 when I was like – JUST KILL ME NOW. YAY NICOLE AND KELLIE!

  3. I couldn’t agree with you more about running someone’s first marathon with the being an incredible honor! It’s something they are never going to forget and you get to be a part of that memory!

    It’s also amazing how quickly you can bond with someone while running!

  4. Congrats on your marathon and fo pacing your friend. That would make it so special for you. I have not run someone’s first marathon with them, but I did pace a runner for her first half and it was really special. I am sure she was ready to clobber me at certain points during the race, but she had a smile on her face when she crossed the finish line.

Leave a Reply

