Princess Half Marathon 2015

For the first time in forever, I’m trying a new runDisney race, the Princess Half Marathon.

The race is merely 2 weeks away, kind of, I mean really like 3 but we’re rounding so we naturally round down. Part of the reason I’ve never done the Princess Half Marathon is it’s in February, which makes it really close to Marathon Weekend and normally I’m still trying to bounce back from this:

before I can start thinking about another race weekend that starts before 6 AM. February’s been an off month for me for the most part. On top of that the princess theme was never particularly appealing but I heard this year it would be a Frozen theme and when I came back from lunch the race still hadn’t sold out. So I began to sing “let it go, let it go, let all my money gooooooo” and registered.

I signed up for the Glass Slipper Challenge and the 5k on word that the 5k medal would be, of course, Frozen themed. And I was right, and so quite happy that I signed up for the 5k.

From Disney Parks Blog

I am so incredibly uncomfortable right now.

“I am so incredibly uncomfortable right now,” she thinks after waiting in line for 2 hours to meet them.

And yes, it just occurred to me that all the ribbons have snowflakes on them. So basically, if there were a year I were going to do Princess, it would be in honor of Frozen because despite being a year old now I still love it. Still love “Let It Go” and no, I don’t care what anyone else thinks or how much they hate it. I KNOW EVERYONE ELSE IS SICK OF FROZEN BUT I’M NOT SO THERE.

This trip is going to be great because I am back at my beloved Boardwalk. I liked the Swan hotel, and I really liked staying at Port Orleans French Quarter, and Art of Animation, and all the other hotels I’ve stayed at but damn the Boardwalk is just my favorite hotel. Oddly enough, while I’m in Disney to run the Princess Half Marathon, I will be closing on my Disney Vacation Club membership AT THE BOARDWALK. A big part of the reason for staying there was that my parents are coming, too, so I got the 1 bedroom DVC villa since my mom loved it last time.

I did my laundry upon coming back from Marathon Weekend and immediately put about 75% of it back into the suitcase to take for Princess, but I still need to formalize costumes/themed running outfits because let’s be honest “costume” is overstating it a little bit. Also, I’m going to actually look at and think about the weather forecast in deciding what I will pack so I’m not freezing 95% of my trip. But packing is pretty simple, right? Screen shot 2014-06-24 at 8.54.44 PMI’m definitely going as Prince Eric for the 5k, complete with flute because you can’t be Prince Eric and not have your flute on hand. It’s a “no duh” kind of scenario. TAKE THAT, GENDER STEREOTYPES! The rest is still up in the air, so we’ll see what happens…

Tips for a first time princess?

4 thoughts on “Princess Half Marathon 2015

  1. I love that you began this post with a Frozen reference because, a year later, I too STILL LOVE FROZEN!

    Anyway, tips for Princess…ummmm try not to get pissed off by all the surrounding estrogen and kids. Princess weekend unfortunately means a female dominated weekend and on top of that, it is February break for schools so you got the extra rugrats running around.

    Oh, and I have given absolutely no thought or care to weather with my costumes, so hopefully the weather cooperates! Maybe we can get an amazing throw away again!

  2. I’m still not over Frozen either, although in my case, I came to it a lot later than everyone else. But yeah, it’ still amazing, and I’m not ready to let it go… See what I did there? 😉

Leave a Reply

