An Active Weekend Part 1: 2015 Mid-Atlantic Erg Sprints

I FINALLY DID IT! I FINALLY PR’D IN THE HALF MARATHON AND CAME IN IN UNDER 2 HOURS!****

****I didn’t run it, I rowed it, but still.IMG_5531

I compare everything to road races now, so here’s how the Mid-Atlantic erg sprints differ from a local race.

Erg sprints: 80% of competitors probably couldn’t legally drive themselves there.
Road race: 90% of the field can legally consume alcohol.

Erg sprints: Too cold to go outside, let’s just do this in a high school gym.
Road race: It’s never too cold outside to run. Never.

Erg sprints: Puke buckets are provided upon request so that contestants can vomit when they finish without making a mess.
Road race: The world is your puke bucket, but please aim away from other runners.

Erg sprints: Boys/Men will accept any excuse to wear ridiculous looking spandex outfits.
Road race: Boys/Men will accept any excuse to wear ridiculous looking spandex outfits.

IMG_5532Erg sprints: Olympic athlete beats me in the half marathon by 30 minutes.
Road Race: Olympic athlete beats me in the half marathon by an hour.
(Just saying, Esther Lofgren, Deena Kastor’s beaten me by more so you might want to up your game.)

Erg sprints: Stats are on a television screen behind you and on the erg screen so you get an idea of who’s ahead of you.
Road race: You can clearly see all the people beating you because there they are, right in front of you.

All in all, I actually had a really good time. Lest anyone think that they should not try something because they will not be successful at it: I completed the half marathon on the rowing machine and came in dead last. That’s right, out of the 4 people signed up to do the event, I came in 4th. Guess what? I got up off the rowing machine at the end, and surprise! The world was still around and rotating around the sun.

Granted, this was definitely set up different from a road race (there wasn’t that guy who no matter the temperature wears short shorts made out of the American flag) and I didn’t even know if I came in last, but nonetheless, I want to take this moment as a PSA: don’t let your fear of failure stop you from participating in a sporting event.

4 thoughts on “An Active Weekend Part 1: 2015 Mid-Atlantic Erg Sprints

Leave a Reply

