There’s no “fun” in frustration… or is there?

Nothing better than some nice rest time.

Nothing better than some nice rest time.

The past week has been… a little overload-y, but in a good way.

After my marathon hiatus and my build up to rowing a half marathon, I have returned to a full workout-load with a little bit of a blood thirst–I’m rowing, running, and doing a strength training plan I put together from a book and from the sage advice of a power lifting friend. Though honestly my favorite part of the day is still pajama time because… you know… pajamas.

And, on Friday, it all paid off when I PR’d in the 5k while just out doing an “easy” run. My first PR in over a year.

You know how sometimes you’re out for an easy run and you look down at your watch and you start thinking and doing math and suddenly you’re like, “easy? I CAN GO SO MUCH FASTER I NEED TO SEIZE THIS MOMENT!” and you just start gunning it? This was one of those runs. Those freakish, rare moments where everything clicks, it becomes one and then nothing, as Niles Crane once said of his connection to spelling.

It was weird, but it happened, and I was happy to capitalize on the moment. Kind of like when Trader Joe’s had the samples of pie with ice cream on it; you don’t question your good fortune you just go with it.

4 thoughts on “There’s no “fun” in frustration… or is there?

Leave a Reply

