What I’m listening to

My time at the gym has steadily been declining as the outdoor weather conditions improve. My runs are now all outside, and it’s amazing, but in an effort to keep myself as well rounded as possible for as long as possible, I’m still heading into the gym to strength train and I’ve been doing the rowing machine until rowing season starts on Monday.

I usually park myself on the erg for about 30 minutes to an hour at a time and then follow up with pumping some iron if you know what I mean. There’s nothing more fun than going to lift heavy things wearing a pink princess half marathon shirt.

And so, I’ve been listening to music.

Anyway, I actually have a new thing where I like to listen to whole albums in the gym given my routine. EXCEPT NO ONE LISTENS TO ALBUMS ANYMORE THEY JUST BUY SINGLE SONGS OFF ITUNES. If we’d done that back in my day, how would anyone have known the joy that is the entirety of Backstreet’s Back? Exactly.

This week was Siamese Dream by the Smashing Pumpkins. (I have very diversified musical tastes.) SmashingPumpkins-SiameseDreamWe have a long history, this album and I. Aside from a Beatles greatest hits compilation I took from my dad, this was the first album I loved. And, 20 years later, I still love it. “Today” can still crack the top 10 list of my favorite songs, and I still love “Rocket,” “Geek U.S.A.,” and “Cherub Rock.” Yes, yes, I do also really like Melancholy and the Infinite Sadness, (good songs to work out to: X.Y.U., Bullet with Butterfly Wings, Zero, Bodies, Jellybelly) but Siamese Dream has a special place in my heart.

The fun thing about listening to an album when you plan on doing something for longer than, say, 20 minutes, is that you can push on the more upbeat songs and then take it down a notch for the mellower songs. You row the shit out of “Rocket” and then you chillax a little bit for “Disarm.”

First favorite album? An entire album you would listen to while running?

5 thoughts on “What I’m listening to

  1. First favourite album…..The Travelling Wilburies…circa 1986 (Bob Dylan, George Harrison, Jeff Lynn, Roy Orbison and Tom Petty).

    I have listened to “greatest hits mix” cds that I have made of artists during a run, but rarely do I listen to a whole album on a run.

  2. My first favorite album was Billy Joel River of Dreams. We used to listen to it on road trips. For full albums, Timbaland’s Shock Value is great. I also listen to a lot of musicals when I run. I envision myself as the lead role and how awesome it would be and that keeps me motivated to run/work harder.

  3. You row for an hour?!?! Oh my goodness, I really need to start working on that!

    It’s a special thing when you can listen to an album all the way through – for me it’s the Matchbox Twenty albums!

Leave a Reply

