BIA Blunder

So if you haven’t heard already, Bia went bust. Screen shot 2015-03-21 at 9.05.03 PM

That women designed, women run, sports watch for women is bankrupt and ceasing operations “on or around April 3rd.”  The announcement came as something of a surprise to me, since I hadn’t heard anything about financial trouble. Honestly, I hated the watch.  I’ve used it I think 3 times and since I was unable to return it I was just kind of stuck with this thing I really didn’t like using.  A lot of the problems ended up being features that were never implemented, but at its core I think the idea of an SOS button was the best idea that bia had.

I think we can all agree that some way to let people know where you are and what happened to you is a great feature for a sports watch.  As rowing season picks up and I start debating whether or not to go out in a single person boat, it would be great if my waterproof Garmin had a safety feature that let me notify someone where I was in the event of an emergency.

The SOS feature was why I got a bia and I hope that someone picks that up and makes it into a great device.  Until then, I guess my mom will just have to continue to secretly sew tracking devices into all my workout clothes.

Apparently, the GPS part of the watch will continue to work indefinitely, so that’s… something?

4 thoughts on “BIA Blunder

  1. all they need to do is patent the SOS button on an athletic wristband and then license it to garmen, and anyone else who pays! Ta-da! I’ve been watching too much Shark-Tank….

Leave a Reply

