“I’m not doing a fall marathon,” she said.

Famous last words of every single runner: “I’m not doing a [insert race distance here].” Second runner up to that is “I’m not doing another [insert race distance here].”

I got into the Marine Corps Marathon.Picture 9

Why would you enter a lottery for a fall marathon when you don’t really want to run a fall marathon? there are a myriad of reasons. Maybe you figure this way you can say you tried to do a fall marathon but the one you were willing to do, well, it didn’t want you. The lottery itself takes some of the agency away from marathon sign ups–it’s not me deciding to do the marathon, it’s fate telling me to do the marathon.

And just as I was exhausted from the first week of getting up early to row and then running to a second boathouse because I’m a fucking moron, I get an email saying I get to add marathon training to my summer plans.

 

3 thoughts on ““I’m not doing a fall marathon,” she said.

Leave a Reply

