The Disney Moderate Experience

In 2009, I had my first experience at a Walt Disney World moderate resort, the Caribbean Beach. We’ve stayed at every moderate on Disney property since then, and here are some of my favorite memories…

2009 – Caribbean Beach
[My sister on the phone with the front desk] “No, you don’t understand, the bus NEVER stops at Barbados! I keep taking it and it keeps passing by Barbados when we come back.” Turns out, Barbados is the first stop going to the parks, the last stop coming back from the parks. Oh, and it would’ve taken less time to walk to the actual Barbados from the food court. Jamaican me crazy, Caribbean Beach.

From WDWInfo.com

2009 – Coronado Springs
Me: How’s the hotel?
Sister: I don’t know, I’m lost. I can’t find the room.
M: What?
S: I’ve been walking around, I went through some woods, I don’t know where I am!
M: I told you to tell them you wanted Casitas, did you get Casitas?
S: I DON’T KNOW WHAT I GOT I JUST WALKED PAST THE SAME POOL FIVE TIMES OR MAYBE IT WAS A DIFFERENT POOL AND THEY ALL JUST LOOK THE SAME! I DON’T KNOW.

My Mom: Make sure someone takes you to the room when you get there! YOUR SISTER GOT LOST IN THE WOODS.

Coronado Springs Resort. Courtesy of waltdisneyworld.com

2013 – Port Orleans Riverside
[My sister surveys the Princess Tiana room] “Wow, this looks like a princess storage closet. This is terrible. But good location.”

2010 – Port Orleans French Quarter
Me: “Thank God we got our beignets before the fryer broke down. I’d stay here every single time just for the beignets.”

If I were ranking moderates, Port Orleans French Quarter would win every single time. We last stayed there in December 2014 and will be back again in October for our annual sister trip to WDW. I’m not joking when I say the beignets are pretty great. All in all, my greatest gripe with the moderates is their size–it’s just spread out so much that getting around the hotel itself is a pain in the ass if you’re not centrally located (which’ll cost you a little more), except at French Quarter.

The rooms, however, are very nice and the beds at Coronado Springs are pretty delightful. So if you’re on the fence, a moderate is not a bad way to stay at Walt Disney World.

Favorite Moderate Disney hotel?

4 thoughts on “The Disney Moderate Experience

  1. The only moderate I’ve tried is POR. I liked it well enough (yes to those headboard fireworks!) but I’m back to Pop for W&D – don’t think the extra expense is necessarily worth it for a short trip, anyway.

  2. I actually loved Coronado Springs (and the upgrade to the suite last time didn’t hurt) but I didn’t remember the multiple bus stops and was not a fan of that. But then again, I haven’t stayed at Port Orleans since around when it opened or Riverside since it was called Dixie Landings (you know, before Disney realized they were being offensive…)

Leave a Reply

