Marathon Training: The Road so Far

First off, Happy 4th of July.IMG_4782

I missed all the fireworks this year, unfortunately. I actually really enjoy fireworks, so it was a bit of a bummer that I missed them. But that’s why we go to Disney World, where there are always fireworks to see.

Well, things have been a little off lately.  Last week I just squeaked in my 9 mile long run Monday morning instead of over the weekend like it was supposed to be.  I missed a 5 mile run and again flaked on my long run, doing 3 of the 6 miles and then making up the rest on the erg later that night after getting home to DC.  The scenery changed up a little bit and I spent my week running in and around Princeton instead of in DC. I was supposed to be running in scenic, hot, beachfront Florida and finishing each run by jumping in the pool.

But, alas, even the best laid plans sometimes go awry.  My mom called and said my dad was having some routine stress test on a Friday.  The routine stress test turned into another test on Monday. And the routine test turned into not being released from the hospital and a triple bypass a week later.  The doctor was pretty shocked my dad had been able to walk around Disney World a few weeks ago without dropping dead.

IMG_6010So it was one of those weeks where you just kind of end up eating your feelings and having pizza 4 times in one week.

The surgery went well in that the heart works now but not so well in that other things stopped working. I know he’ll be fine eventually. After a week at home, I headed back to DC last night. Getting back into my routine, or at least something approximating my routine, and getting ready for Capital Sprints this Saturday.

Week 4 of marathon training: 3 miles x 2, 6 miles x 2, 11 mile long run.

4 thoughts on “Marathon Training: The Road so Far

Leave a Reply

