Bridal Showers

I’m 2 weeks away from my sister’s bridal shower.  You know how when you have a sibling and you fight with them, they immediately go snitch on you to your mother and then you just sneer at them like, “IF YOU CAN’T HANDLE THE HEAT STAY OUT OF THE KITCHEN!”?  This has more or less been how this shower planning has progressed.  I make a decision, she goes screaming to mother about it.  Repeat.  In case you didn’t know, my sister is getting married this fall.  I don’t mention it a lot to people and they’re always surprised that she’s getting married til I say, “well, I have a lot more fun stuff going on in the fall than a wedding… so…”

I’m just not a party person, ok.

Shower planning has progressed like most things in my life lately.  I started with lofty goals and then quickly became practical and tried to figure out where I could buy the cheapest boxed wine.  Here are some things I have learned should you ever be in a position where you, too, must host a party:

  1. Costco invitations/cards are the best ever. Great quality, great price and they printed the return address on the envelope at no extra charge.
  2. Simple is solid.  Too much work trying to make hidden mickeys or a Disney themed party? Go with what’s at Party City for the cheapest price. Beachy flip flop theme accomplished.
  3. Inconvenient location means fewer people attend.  This translates into savings for the person throwing the party.  I’m saving a buttload of money by engaging in this passive-aggressive response to a refusal to trim the guest list.
  4. Let a restaurant do the work and the clean up. It’s worth the cost, especially since I don’t live where the shower is being held.

IMG_6010Oddly enough, I ended up deciding on a pizza place that has a nice restaurant attached to it that happens to be Carvel Ice Cream Store adjacent.  There’s a mix of pizza, pasta, salad, and chicken dishes on the menu for a sit down meal that’ll last approximately 2 hours and I feel like that’s just about enough.  The food is good, and there’s even an outdoor patio spot in the event that it’s not a hot armpit outside but I think we all know the chances of that are nil.

When in doubt, get pizza, dammit! Pizza.

14 thoughts on “Bridal Showers

  1. So I’ve been keeping up with all your posts, but reading on my phone so it’s harder to comment…yes, yes and yes to EVERYTHING you’ve said about running in the heat, marathon training in the summer, etc.

    But this is too funny. My sister is getting married next fall and I am dreading all of this stuff! Not so much because we fight over it, but because I just don’t GET wedding stuff! Why do we need to have an engagement party, a bridal shower, a bachelorette party and a wedding?! I mean how many times do we REALLY need to celebrate the fact that someone is getting married!

  2. Being forced to have a bridal shower, I so desperately wanted to have it Super Bowl Party themed…you know, fried food, wings, a 6 foot long Italian hero and the Giants beating the Patriots (either time) playing…didn’t get that, oh well, at least it got my mom to stop trying to take over my wedding for a month!

  3. Well done for being so organised. Definitely feeling your pain! My sister is getting married in 3 weeks and wanted 2 hen parties organising! Since when do people have 2 parties? And pizza is always a win… !

Leave a Reply

